New Debian TC Members Appointed For Going Past The Systemd Fallout

Written by Michael Larabel in Debian on 9 March 2015 at 09:44 AM EDT. 30 Comments
Last year following Debian's decision to choose systemd as its init manager and then the init coupling vote, there ended up being three resignations from Debian's Technical Committee: Colin Watson, Ian Jackson, and Russ Allbery. Those vacant seats have now been appointed by the existing TC members.

The newly appointed Technical Committee members are Sam Hartman, Tollef Fog Heen, and Didier Raboud. These new members join Bdale Garbee, Don Armstrong, Andreas Barth, Steve Langasek, and Keith Packard for making up the Debian Technical Committee. The Debian Technical Committee as established by the Debian Constitution is responsible for making the final decision on technical disputes within the Debian project, which became very important last year with all of the init system discussions.

The announcement of these new TC appointments can be found on the debian-devel-announce list.
Related News
About The Author
Michael Larabel

Michael Larabel is the principal author of and founded the site in 2004 with a focus on enriching the Linux hardware experience. Michael has written more than 20,000 articles covering the state of Linux hardware support, Linux performance, graphics drivers, and other topics. Michael is also the lead developer of the Phoronix Test Suite, Phoromatic, and automated benchmarking software. He can be followed via Twitter, LinkedIn, or contacted via

Popular News This Week