Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RADV Zink Sees Another "Massive" Optimization On The Way

Phoronix: RADV Zink Sees Another "Massive" Optimization On The Way

In going through my recent RADV-Zink vs. RadeonSI OpenGL benchmarks, Valve's Mike Blumenkrantz has already been landing optimizations/fixes and there is another one on the way as a result...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I'm also seeing a bit higher fps with amdvlk in SotTR when being CPU bound. At least that was the case a few weeks ago.

Comment

Since I'm a total layman concerning gfx drivers and gfx api...what is profiting. Only games like ET ..Only Zink or the whole RADV even when vkd3d-proton is used?

Comment

epilog or eiplog?

Comment

Originally posted by CochainComplex View Post
          Since I'm a total layman concerning gfx drivers and gfx api...what is profiting. Only games like ET ..Only Zink or the whole RADV even when vkd3d-proton is used?
          This is not optimizing a game, this is optimizing a driver feature, this would benefit every game using that features.

It just happens that sometime a given game do things in a way it's easier to spot the need for optimization. The most obvious a game makes it to spot the problem, the easier it is do track down the problem and easier it is to check and test how much fixes improves the situation (or not).

Sometime the testbed for a feature is a corner case, but if it makes things easy to work with, it's better to focus on the corner case.

Comment

CochainComplex AFAIU, the change itself was made in RADV, but it only benefits Zink, since that's the sole thing relying on that functionality atm. Out of all applications running with Zink, it's likely that only the CPU-bound ones will see a significant uplift.

Comment