Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• F2FS & Btrfs Enjoy Some Nice Improvements With Linux 6.4

Phoronix: F2FS & Btrfs Enjoy Some Nice Improvements With Linux 6.4

In addition to EXT4 seeing some performance optimizations and folio conversion for Linux 6.4, the Btrfs and Flash-Friendly File-System (F2FS) drivers are also seeing some nice enhancements with this next Linux kernel version...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I've been using F2FS for a solid 1-2 years on my main computer and it is very good. Zero issues, and slightly faster.

Works great with systemd-boot. Grub had some serious bugs wish F2FS last time I tried.
    Last edited by Zeioth; 25 April 2023, 08:46 PM.

Comment

In general it is fun with news about optimizations and speed improvements, but sometimes I wonder; if a subfeature of project x (not the game) is improved by 4x or 10% or 20% or whatever I would really like to know what it compares against. You usually have to dig around a bit to find that info.

Let me try a rather simple example. If a paint program uses 100 milliseconds to draw something on screen, but uses only 0.001 milliseconds to draw it's color picker, then a 4x improvement on on redrawing the color picker might not be of much value especially if you use it only once in a while. A 0.5x improvement on redrawing something on screen would be much more interesting, but sound less impressive.

http://www.dirtcellar.net

Comment

If only ZFS would get optimized for NVMes

Comment

Originally posted by Zeioth View Post
          Works great with systemd-boot. Grub had some serious bugs wish F2FS last time I tried.