Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fedora 21 Beta & Final Release Slip Further

Phoronix: Fedora 21 Beta & Final Release Slip Further

At the beginning of today I wrote how the Fedora 21 Beta was pushed back but just by one day. Now after another Go/No-Go meeting today, Fedora 21 beta and all subsequent deadlines have been pushed back by one week...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

Delay OS perhaps

Comment

Hopefully they'll release 21 before the end of the year. FWIW, December 17th is when Fedora 20 was released last year.

I'm currently debating whether I should switch my main personal system to Fedora 21 beta or openSUSE Tumbleweed once the merger is completed next month.
      I've never used SUSE before, but if I were to use Fedora beta I'd have to deal with their debug kernel, no rpmfusion 21 repo, having to convert the repositories to release once final is out, and updating 6 months later.

I was a big fan of Debian sid until a couple years ago, now it's just a mess. Arch is awesome and more stable than sid, but I hate having to spend so much time configuring everything. If openSUSE Factory (soon to be Tumbleweed) is as stable/maintained and up-to-date as it appears, I'll be very happy.

Comment

Could 2014 be the "Year without a Fedora? This and more on Action Phoronix 11!

Originally posted by Ouroboros View Post
        Hopefully they'll release 21 before the end of the year. FWIW, December 17th is when Fedora 20 was released last year...
        Thanks for the support. I'm sure the Fedora will be found soon, I made fliers after all.