Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

RX 5500 XT - Display resolution blocked to 1024*768

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • RX 5500 XT - Display resolution blocked to 1024*768

    Hello,

    I bought a new graphic card (MSI RX 5500 XT - 8 GB) and I have a problem on Kubuntu 18.04.3, my resolution is blocked in 1024*768 and AMD's drivers are no effects (tested with kernel 4.15.0-47.50).

    I don't have problem with Windows 10 1909 (dual-boot / W10 fast boot disabled).

    My kernel (now) :
    Code:
    $ uname -r
    5.3.0-28-generic
    Secure-boot deactivated / in compatibilty mode : CSM/UEFI

    After read this post, I tried the latest kernel (5.5.2) but I have an error after GRUB.

    On a another forum, dedicated to Ubuntu, this has been tried :
    Code:
    $ sudo lshw -c display
      *-display UNCLAIMED       
           description: VGA compatible controller
           product: Navi 14 [Radeon RX 5500/5500M / Pro 5500M]
           vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
           physical id: 0
           bus info: [email protected]:28:00.0
           version: c5
           width: 64 bits
           clock: 33MHz
           capabilities: pm pciexpress msi vga_controller bus_master cap_list
           configuration: latency=0
           resources: memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f0000000-f01fffff ioport:e000(size=256) memory:fcb00000-fcb7ffff memory:c0000-dffff
    /etc/X11/xorg.conf not exist.

    Code:
    $ xrandr   
     xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768 default connected primary 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm    1024x768      76.00*   $ xrandr --newmode "1680x1050_60.00"  146.25  1680 1784 1960 2240  1050 1053 1059 1089 -hsync +vsync xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default    $ xrandr --addmode default 1680x1050_60.00        xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default  $ xrandr xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default              Screen 0: minimum 1024 x 768, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768                                                                   default connected primary 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm                       1024x768      76.00*                                                1680x1050_60.00  59.95
    Thanks you for your help and sorry for my english.

  • #2
    Sounds like the driver is not loaded and you are getting vesa or efifb. Please check your dmesg output and see if the driver is loading properly. Depending on your distro you may have to install firmware packages.

    Comment


    • #3
      What am I looking for?
      In dmesg, I don't have result for "fail", "vesa" but this for "driver" :
      Code:
      [    0.183141] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbfs
      [    0.183141] usbcore: registered new interface driver hub
      [    0.183141] usbcore: registered new device driver usb
      [    2.038852] Block layer SCSI generic (bsg) driver version 0.4 loaded (major 244)
      [    3.790169] shpchp: Standard Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.4
      [    3.791182] Serial: 8250/16550 driver, 32 ports, IRQ sharing enabled
      [    3.816238] tun: Universal TUN/TAP device driver, 1.6
      [    3.816258] PPP generic driver version 2.4.2
      [    3.816287] ehci_hcd: USB 2.0 'Enhanced' Host Controller (EHCI) Driver
      [    3.816290] ehci-pci: EHCI PCI platform driver
      [    3.816296] ehci-platform: EHCI generic platform driver
      [    3.816300] ohci_hcd: USB 1.1 'Open' Host Controller (OHCI) Driver
      [    3.816302] ohci-pci: OHCI PCI platform driver
      [    3.816307] ohci-platform: OHCI generic platform driver
      [    3.816310] uhci_hcd: USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver
      [    3.873718] i2c /dev entries driver
      [    3.901114] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.2.
      [    5.240553] hidraw: raw HID events driver (C) Jiri Kosina
      [    5.309022] usbcore: registered new interface driver usbhid
      [    5.309023] usbhid: USB HID core driver
      [    7.713680] lp: driver loaded but no devices found
      [    7.715626] ppdev: user-space parallel port driver
      [    9.020448] usbcore: registered new interface driver r8712u
      [    9.738703] Generic Realtek PHY r8169-2200:00: attached PHY driver [Generic Realtek PHY] (mii_bus:phy_addr=r8169-2200:00, irq=IGNORE)
      [  721.736849] usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
      [  721.738432] usbcore: registered new interface driver uas
      efifb
      Code:
      [    3.789400] iommu ivhd0: AMD-Vi: Event logged [IOTLB_INV_TIMEOUT device=28:00.0 address=0x40c99e940]
      [    3.789403] iommu ivhd0: AMD-Vi: Event logged [IOTLB_INV_TIMEOUT device=28:00.0 address=0x40c99e960]         
      [    3.789460] pcieport 0000:00:08.1: AER: enabled with IRQ 30
      [    3.790169] shpchp: Standard Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.4
      [    3.790205] efifb: probing for efifb
      [    3.790230] efifb: No BGRT, not showing boot graphics
      [    3.790231] efifb: framebuffer at 0xe0000000, using 7104k, total 7104k
      [    3.790232] efifb: mode is 1680x1050x32, linelength=6912, pages=1
      [    3.790232] efifb: scrolling: redraw
      [    3.790233] efifb: Truecolor: size=8:8:8:8, shift=24:16:8:0
      And I have many lines with "AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out"

      Comment


      • #4
        look for "amdgpu". It looks like the driver is not loaded. Your kernel may be too old.

        Comment


        • #5
          No result for "amdgpu"

          With only "amd" :
          Code:
          $ sudo dmesg | grep -E -i '(amd|amdgpu)'
          [    0.000000] Linux version 5.3.0-28-generic ([email protected]) (gcc version 7.4.0 (Ubuntu 7.4.0-1ubuntu1~18.04.1)) #30~18.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jan 17 06:14:09 UTC 2020 (Ubuntu 5.3.0-28.30~18.04.1-generic 5.3.13)
          [    0.000000]   AMD AuthenticAMD
          [    0.000000] RAMDISK: [mem 0x30069000-0x3402bfff]
          [    0.000000] ACPI: SSDT 0x00000000DBE40E88 008C98 (v02 AMD    AMD ALIB 00000002 MSFT 04000000)
          [    0.000000] ACPI: SSDT 0x00000000DBE49B20 003676 (v01 AMD    AMD AOD  00000001 INTL 20120913)
          [    0.000000] ACPI: SSDT 0x00000000DBE4D210 000024 (v01 AMDFCH FCHZP    00001000 INTL 20120913)
          [    0.000000] ACPI: IVRS 0x00000000DBE4D280 0000D0 (v02 AMD    AMD IVRS 00000001 AMD  00000000)
          [    0.000000] ACPI: SSDT 0x00000000DBE4D350 001A58 (v01 AMD    AMD CPU  00000001 AMD  00000001)
          [    0.000000] ACPI: CRAT 0x00000000DBE4EDA8 000BD0 (v01 AMD    AMD CRAT 00000001 AMD  00000001)
          [    0.000000] ACPI: CDIT 0x00000000DBE4F978 000029 (v01 AMD    AMD CDIT 00000001 AMD  00000001)
          [    0.000000] ACPI: SSDT 0x00000000DBE4F9A8 001D4A (v01 AMD    AmdTable 00000001 INTL 20120913)
          [    0.000000] ACPI: SSDT 0x00000000DBE516F8 0000BF (v01 AMD    AMD PT   00001000 INTL 20120913)
          [    0.003435] Spectre V2 : Mitigation: Full AMD retpoline
          [    0.118166] smpboot: CPU0: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X Six-Core Processor (family: 0x17, model: 0x8, stepping: 0x2)
          [    0.118265] Performance Events: Fam17h core perfctr, AMD PMU driver.
          [    0.783480] pci 0000:00:00.2: AMD-Vi: IOMMU performance counters supported
          [    0.788603] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    0.912623] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    1.152277] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    1.156363] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    1.278038] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    1.399454] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    1.520798] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    1.642490] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    1.790967] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    1.912915] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    2.030631] pci 0000:00:00.2: AMD-Vi: Found IOMMU cap 0x40
          [    2.030632] pci 0000:00:00.2: AMD-Vi: Extended features (0xf77ef22294ada):
          [    2.030633] AMD-Vi: Interrupt remapping enabled
          [    2.030634] AMD-Vi: Virtual APIC enabled
          [    2.030923] AMD-Vi: Lazy IO/TLB flushing enabled
          [    2.030947] iommu ivhd0: AMD-Vi: Event logged [IOTLB_INV_TIMEOUT device=28:00.0 address=0x40c99e8b0]
          [    2.030950] iommu ivhd0: AMD-Vi: Event logged [IOTLB_INV_TIMEOUT device=28:00.0 address=0x40c99e8d0]
          [    2.031610] amd_uncore: AMD NB counters detected
          [    2.031613] amd_uncore: AMD LLC counters detected
          [    2.031865] perf/amd_iommu: Detected AMD IOMMU #0 (2 banks, 4 counters/bank).
          [    2.140153] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    2.140153] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    2.140153] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    2.405980] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    2.527417] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    2.648536] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    2.787108] iommu ivhd0: AMD-Vi: Event logged [IOTLB_INV_TIMEOUT device=28:00.0 address=0x40c99e900]
          [    2.791086] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    2.912422] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    3.036009] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    3.157490] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    3.280151] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    3.402759] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    3.523960] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    3.645219] AMD-Vi: Completion-Wait loop timed out
          [    3.787189] iommu ivhd0: AMD-Vi: Event logged [IOTLB_INV_TIMEOUT device=28:00.0 address=0x40c99e940]
          [    3.787192] iommu ivhd0: AMD-Vi: Event logged [IOTLB_INV_TIMEOUT device=28:00.0 address=0x40c99e960]
          [    8.532193] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    8.532194] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    8.644543] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    8.644544] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    8.760499] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    8.760500] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    8.876853] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    8.876854] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    8.992782] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    8.992783] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    9.100788] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    9.100790] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    9.180815] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    9.180815] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    9.272797] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    9.272799] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    9.380849] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    9.380851] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    9.456617] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    9.456619] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    9.572322] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    9.572323] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          [    9.708358] EDAC amd64: Node 0: DRAM ECC disabled.
          [    9.708360] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
          But I have thought to missing firmware and in /lib/firmware/amdgpu/, I have (only !) added all files "navi14_*.bin" found here.

          Comment


          • #6
            I don't think kernel 5.3 had support for navi14. You need a newer kernel.

            Comment


            • #7
              I have already tested the last kernel (5.5.2) an he had provoked an error ("Couldn't get size" ...) and now, it's OK.

              I will close this topic in some days, when I will sure I don't have problem.

              Thanks for your help !

              Comment


              • #8
                Hello !

                20 days since the solution, I have only some artefacts after a standby.

                Comment

                Working...
                X