Best Coreboot Motherboard

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Coreboot Motherboard

I will be buying a new motherboard in the foreseeable future, but I'm pretty much a total newbie to anything outside mainstream Intel/AMD offerings.

If possible, I'd like coreboot support. What would the best option be? I don't care what vendor. I'm thinking about a nice quiet low power/high efficiency chip, but I would like it to be the newest generation possible.

Are VIA boards any good for desktop users? Are there any that work well with discrete graphics cards?

According to the coreboot wiki, it looks like the only AMD boards are Socket AM2, with one "devel" board exception. AM2 which will quickly be obsolete. I know it is not announced if Fusion will work on AM3, but it certainly won't work on AM2. I would like something relatively future-proof.

Is AM3 coreboot support coming? If so, which boards would most likely give me that?

I'm assuming all the Geode and Atom offerings are no good for desktop users. Though I did see AMD running an intense DirectX 11 videogame inside a netbook using their upcoming Fusion product.

So I am willing to look at relatively small and low power boards as long as I can be assured they will support all that APU OpenCL goodness.

This board looks decent, but I don't see it on the list of supported coreboot motherboards, and the comments mention problems with linux video playback. Not a good sign.

Any suggestions welcome... regardless of vendor.

Comment

Don't be chopping your arms off... avoid VIA like the plague. Stick with a nice AMD CPU on an AMD chipset. Compared to that VIA junk, you'd be WAY better off with a SEMPRON chip.

And don't be forgetting that the integrated viajunk CPU is absolutely against what you were initially asking for... future proof + maybe coreboot. It'll NEVER happen with that viajunk.

There is some support for RS780/SB700 AM3 in coreboot... see under V4 devel boards for AMD Tilapia.