Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unity 7.0 Desktop Coming To Ubuntu 13.04

Phoronix: Unity 7.0 Desktop Coming To Ubuntu 13.04

The Unity 7 desktop has been granted a feature freeze exception so that the updated desktop with "a lot of new code" can be landed in Ubuntu 13.04...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

Either Phoronix has an anti-Ubuntu bias, or Ubuntu is really screwing things up lately.

I've been using Ubuntu for a few years. Does anyone have thoughts on better/more standard distros to jump ship to? And the best way to do so?

Comment

Originally posted by blaisepascal View Post
      Either Phoronix has an anti-Ubuntu bias, or Ubuntu is really screwing things up lately.
      The latter
      I've been using Ubuntu for a few years. Does anyone have thoughts on better/more standard distros to jump ship to?
      Debian, Gentoo, Slackware
      And the best way to do so?
      Just do it. You won't regret.

Comment

Originally posted by blaisepascal View Post

I've been using Ubuntu for a few years. Does anyone have thoughts on better/more standard distros to jump ship to? And the best way to do so?
        I didn't pick up a bias in this article. Personally, I use Ubuntu/Unity every day and I am happy with it. I think it's nicer than the old Gnome. 95% of the time I am in a web browser, shell window, or some type of IDE or text editor, or maybe a desktop instant messaging client. Unity is fine for basic task bar, app switching, log in/out, and WiFi selection type stuff.

Comment

Does anyone have thoughts on better/more standard distros to jump ship to? And the best way to do so?
          Opensuse, Fedora, or if you like debs, Debian Testing, or Mint.