Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The State of GIMP & Its Future

Phoronix: The State of GIMP & Its Future

GIMP core developer Jehan Pagès has written a blog post about the recent work done on GIMP 2.9.4 as well as a look at its future...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

What's so great about gegl tho?

I mean I'm an artist, I paint on linux. I'm excited to see GIMP improve, right now I'm using Krita (which started out as a GIMP fork I think but has evolved pretty far from that).

I mean I think if 2.10 is supposed to be so amazing they really neet to redesign the interface from ground up to be more intuitive and all round usable. The lacking UI of GIMP is it's biggest flaw and repellant of potential new users.

That's largely the reason I never stuck with it for very long. The interface was so messy (not to mention hideously ugly) the by far weakest link of GIMP is it's horrid UI design and it's weird keybinding scheme (the latter admittedly carried over to krita too)

I mean who was the genius who thought "ctrl+shift+a" was a better way to deselect than "ctrl+d"? And the UI of gimp, it's an old design, a relic. If you want to revive gimp's popularity (which krita has now fully taken over almost) you're gonna have to start there. It may seem superficial, but the superficial, the first impression, it's the first thing you need to get right, not the last. A mistake us programmers often make. Get a capable UI designer to do this properly. I mean I would offer to do it but I'm not a capable UI designer even if I'd like to learn to be one.

Comment

Lets face the facts here about gimps user interface, a lot of people just don't like the user interface. It's not that gimp can't replace photoshop, it can, it's that people don't like using it.