Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LLVM Drops Support For Older Visual Studio

Phoronix: LLVM Drops Support For Older Visual Studio

To the ire of some developers, LLVM 3.4 is dropping support for Visual Studio 2008 as its host compiler...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

What an idiotic decision. They've basically guaranteed almost zero corporate pickup now.

((Still stuck on MSVC 2005))

Comment

Originally posted by gamerk2 View Post
      What an idiotic decision. They've basically guaranteed almost zero corporate pickup now.

Because the compiler used to compile your compiler is really the driving factor for corporate adoption...

As a software developer I fully support the decision to make use of features found in modern compilers instead of being stuck with what was available 5 years ago.

Comment

It's the default compiler backend on OS X, iOS and FreeBSD. There's plenty of corporate adoption deriving from that without any bending over backwards to support ancient compilers.

Windows users aren't contributing to LLVM so LLVM doesn't have good Windows support. That's how open-source projects work, individuals and organizations contribute to areas relevant to their use cases or interests. LLVM and clang don't even have exception support on 64-bit Windows, and the unwinding on 32-bit is a hack.

Comment

I'll be blunt: No one gives a rat's ass about MSVC support in LLVM/Clang other than folks hosed on Windows who can't stand microsoft's broken tools and who want to leverage LLVM/Clang/LLDB/Compiler-RT/etc., and who need cross-platform support for their products.