Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sound Open Firmware 2.4.1 Continues The Transition To Zephyr RTOS

Phoronix: Sound Open Firmware 2.4.1 Continues The Transition To Zephyr RTOS

Sound Open Firmware 2.4.1 is out today as the first stable v2.4 release for this open-source audio / DSP firmware stack for not only modern Intel platforms but AMD, Mediatek, and other increasing industry use as well. With Sound Open Firmware 2.4 they have continued the transition in making use of Zephyr RTOS...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

If anyone can verify (or correct me where I am wrong!), is this the gist of things (I am not an expert here)? I assume this is about creating a firmware that runs on top of Zyphyr OS (RTOS) on embedded audio chips (or on an audio card with said chips), maybe no different in concept than various micro-controllers that might exist in a larger X86-64 ecosystem, that also may have their own embedded/lightweight OS. This then has some sort of way to communicate with the main OS/CPU architecture this is tied to. Does this sound good enough, for government work at least, as they say? If not, let me know what I am missing, just trying to learn. Thanks!

Comment

SOF seems great, but why is there no Network Open Firmware, Graphics Open Firmware, and Storage Open Firmware, etc?

Comment

Just last week I manually updated SOF 2.2.x into my Ubuntu 22.04 laptop hoping to get the speakers working. Hopefully 2.4.1 does the trick. Like a bozo, I bought a premium laptop without fully checking if fwupd BIOS updates or audio would work on Linux.

Still better than my last laptop, which was bought, used for years, and then retired all without being able to fully utilize the NVIDIA GPU (Pascal-based, no reclocking without NVIDIA drivers and forcing X11).