Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Distrowatch Biased Distro Reviews

Distrowatch Childish and Biased Distro Reviews

This is unbelievable. How can someone without zero experience in any distro or even Firefox and the Internet use that nonsensical tone and expressions against one of the best, almost perfectly executed, fast and responsive distribution out there. This guy who goes by the name Ian Sanders is either a complete noob or a paid troll. Its not my duty to analyze the reasoning for such behavior but let's review this utter nonsensical text on Distrowatch together.

Before we start let me tell you that I personally used this distro and still load it with dd on a USB stick. Its nice ot have a good backup just in case something happens on my main daily driver. This distro we're talking about is based on Gentoo and comparing to others- is one of the best Gentoo based distro out of the box. Almost noob ready. It has many flavors and I personally recommend KDE version.

Workstation KDE version is called Caclulate CLD (CLD=Calculate Desktop, and the deskop of choice is KDE). There are also server versions and other desktops like XFCE (CLX) and others. On each download mirror, besides hash files, there's a text file with the list that explains desktops shortcuts (CLD, CLX, CLG,...). Moreover unlike many other "praised" distros it has automatic almost daily builds. You can't download them here:

https://wiki.calculate-linux.org/nightly

This is what you want. The name might be a little misleading when you click "testing" and then see the page with "nightly" in the address bar, but this is what you want. Its the release version (currently version 20) but with all fixes up to date. No more downloading tons of updates just after installing .iso. Great stuff to keep on a USB stick. Some distros don't even have point releases, not to mention automatic builds.