Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What linux for a complete noob? threadripper based system.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What linux for a complete noob? threadripper based system.

Hi, I have been using windows and mac os for years, and have tried linux a couple of times but always had issues when installing it. But I really want to give it a try for my 3d work. So, what would be my best option regarding the various builds out there? I have a threadripper 1950, gigabyte x399 Aorus M/B, 64gb 2666mhz ddr4, gigabyte 1070ti, samsung nvme, various ssd and mechanical HHD. This is purely for work using Maya/blender/houdini/Nukex and Zbrush if a linux version is available. Hope this is OK to ask, had a quick search of the forums couldn't find anything relating so I asked. Anyone have a similar setup?

Generally, Ubuntu is the most popular, therefore you are most likely to get vendor support / instructions for that distribution.

With Maya in particular, they offer RPM packages, so using a RPM based distro (OpenSUSE, Fedora, etc.) may be an alternative to consider.

Comment

The Xfce desktop is best for a windows user and it is light, stable, fast and freely configurable. Debian testing is stable rolling release OS and compatible with ubuntu. Debian has most software of Linux distros.Use netinst and choose the Xfce desktop in the installer.
      https://cdimage.debian.org/cdimage/b.../amd64/iso-cd/

Get the driver for 1070ti from: https://www.nvidia.com/Download/driv...x/141847/en-us

With Synaptic, install: build-essential and linux-headers packages for the 4.19 kernel. Install blender too.
      Unzip the driver and boot to the Linux rescue mode form the Grub menu. cd to your Download directory and execute the run file.

Comment

Why, to hell, do you suggest such wrong things. Installing that driver from the installer is the total wrong way.
        Stop telling nonsense in this forum, no one give a shit to your meanings.