Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• KDE 4.0.0 Finally Released!

Phoronix: KDE 4.0.0 Finally Released!

While it's come after a number of delays, KDE 4.0.0 has finally been released. KDE 4.0.0 integrates a wealth of changes since KDE 3.5, which we have been sharing over the past number of months (KDE 4)...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

Hi. I have been monitoring phoronix for the past 5 months and this is my first comment. I have already downloaded and tried the 4th release of KDE.
    So far I have not been pleased with this release.

Hopefully this is because I have installed KDE4 onto a mythbuntu system that had gnome preinstalled (essentially a dirty system - which was not configured to be used with KDE4). I will try installing it onto a clean system and retesting this. If any of my issues remain after the retest, I will be sure to post some bug reports.

The main issues I had were that the desktop icons became widgets and as a result they are buggy. (When I mouse over all of the icons a bunch of them highlight and don't unhighlight - until I go over each one slowly). Also the desktop was extremely slow. The Desktop effects (like rotations and movements) were slow and choppy. (like the CPU was 200% in use. (Yes that is 200%). I had the entire system freeze twice. No buttons would work (ctrl+alt+f1 or ctrl+alt+backspace) - I had to wait 5 minutes an 25 seconds before the system unfroze.

Other than that the issues I experienced and the fact that the icons have now become widgets the desktop looked great, the wall papers were very nice and juicy too.
    Last edited by xerop; 11 January 2008, 05:48 PM.

Comment