Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Microsoft's PowerShell Now Available On Ubuntu In Snap Form

Phoronix: Microsoft's PowerShell Now Available On Ubuntu In Snap Form

Canonical and Microsoft have just announced that PowerShell Core is now available for Ubuntu users in Snap format...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

okay... I'm not a powershell expert, but what are you going to do with it on Linux exactly? I know there are a bunch of commands for managing windows services, but for linux? Perhaps it's only relevant in the use case of managing headless windows servers remotely from Linux?

Comment

Originally posted by sheldonl View Post
      okay... I'm not a powershell expert, but what are you going to do with it on Linux exactly? I know there are a bunch of commands for managing windows services, but for linux? Perhaps it's only relevant in the use case of managing headless windows servers remotely from Linux?
      Yeah, probably mostly that. If I were managing WIndows systems I would be happy I didn't need to boot into Windows to do it. And maybe someone who is WIndows-first would be able to manage Linux systems with it too? Dunno, but imo it can only be a good thing

Comment

Who would possibly want the M$ PowerShell on Ubuntu (and derivatives) if we have our own, seasoned and established shell?
        I don't like Microsoft getting closer incrementally towards the open source world. First the Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL), them bying Github, they also are a Platinum Member of the Linux Foundation and now they start to make their apps etc. "available" for Ubuntu.