Redox OS 0.6 Released With Many Fixes, Rewritten Kernel Memory Manager

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Redox OS 0.6 Released With Many Fixes, Rewritten Kernel Memory Manager

Phoronix: Redox OS 0.6 Released With Many Fixes, Rewritten Kernel Memory Manager

Redox OS, the micro-kernel based Rust-written operating system, is out with a new Christmas release...

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...S-0.6-Released

Great. I have been waiting forever for new images.
    Every time I tried to build it from source, the build process failed. (I am not a rust expert, so I did'nt try to get it working.)

Comment

Hopefully, this will once be the next generation free OS.
      But I don't really like the MIT license. I think Apache V2 would have been the better choice.

Comment

Originally posted by Steffo View Post
        But I don't really like the MIT license. I think Apache V2 would have been the better choice.
        May I ask why you prefer the Apache license over the MIT license?

Comment

Redox OS has lead to many command line utilities I prefer to their GNU counterparts, bat can be really nice for numbered line output. fd is a simpler find, the cool thing is a lot of these utilities are in the AUR and available as cargo so they run on Linux just fine too.

Comment

I wonder how ling untill it can run the not-firefox web browser that is planned.

Comment

Originally posted by elatllat View Post
              I wonder how ling untill it can run the not-firefox web browser that is planned.
              The better question is how long that browser will take to be anywhere near modern. My guess is never: WebPositive (for Haiku OS) is still not ready for prime time after >10 years.

Unless you were talking about a Chromium browser. Then I have no idea.

Comment

Originally posted by jbranso View Post

May I ask why you prefer the Apache license over the MIT license?