DragonFlyBSD Updates Its Intel + Radeon Linux-Ported Graphics Driver Code

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DragonFlyBSD Updates Its Intel + Radeon Linux-Ported Graphics Driver Code

Phoronix: DragonFlyBSD Updates Its Intel + Radeon Linux-Ported Graphics Driver Code

DragonFlyBSD developer François Tigeot continues his trek of near single-handedly porting the Intel and Radeon DRM graphics driver code from the Linux kernel to this BSD...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

I've met people who use FreeBSD as a daily driver and do myself, I've met people who use OpenBSD as a daily driver, I have even met people that use NetBSD as a daily driver operating system. I have NEVER met someone that uses DragonflyBSD as a daily driver on their laptop or workstation. According to this link https://undeadly.org/cgi?action=arti...20200608075708 OpenBSD has newer graphic support than this "bleading edge" BSD OS. To me Dragonfly will allways be a research platform. I love their inovation but they are seriously lagging behind the times with hardware support. Kudos to the lone developer updating the graphics core though, my hats off to him!

Comment

Less devs, what'd you expect. I used it for a while for generic desktop but I was using HD6950 at the time for GPU. Vega support ain't that far off tho

Comment

Originally posted by aht0 View Post
        I used it for a while for generic desktop but I was using HD6950 at the time for GPU.

How did Dragonfly I guess fly (ha ha) for you as a daily driver compared to the other major *BSD operating systems. Pretty sure I've seen you post that you use FreeBSD too, how was the comparison?

Comment

Originally posted by kylew77 View Post