Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Best $90 Spent For My Home-Made Server Room

Phoronix: The Best $90 Spent For My Home-Made Server Room

Earlier today I wrote about how reusing the heat from the 60+ system Linux benchmarking server room can heat a home in the winter. The free heat is nice, but it came with a bit of noise; however, thanks to purchasing one product for less than $100 USD the noise level has been significantly reduced...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

Michael :
    As a biologist, I'd say that the internal material is awesome... for growing bacterial and fungal colonies, which you probably don't want.
    I would recommend that you add an UV light to that muffler. It should not significantly decrease the efficiency, but it will certainly kill anything growing in there. You just have to make sure to turn it on a couple of hours every day. And also make sure none of the light comes out.

Comment

Originally posted by Stunts View Post
      Michael :
      As a biologist, I'd say that the internal material is awesome... for growing bacterial and fungal colonies, which you probably don't want.
      I would recommend that you add an UV light to that muffler. It should not significantly decrease the efficiency, but it will certainly kill anything growing in there. You just have to make sure to turn it on a couple of hours every day. And also make sure none of the light comes out.
      As a biologist i question myself: Are there microbes capable metabolizing foam (aka. plastic) with reasonable catalytic efficiency?
      Please explain why you think anything can live in there.

Comment

Originally posted by Kemosabe View Post