Linux Game Development and a Qt Developers Rage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Linux Game Development and a Qt Developers Rage

This is in response to http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...Book-Pro/page3

Originally posted by uid313
    What is that?
    Where can I find more information about it?

First off I have been a Linux developer for as long as it has publicly existed Gtk "8 years" and Qt "to date" I am only pointing
    this out for when you ask your self is this possible to pull off?

So what is this LiquidPixel thing!!!! Well its a Software Development Toolkit used to build applications like ..

Photoshop or Gimp, Illustrator or Inkscape, Premiere, Audacity, Unity 3D,
    AfterEffects or NukeX, Mudbox or Mari, MotionBuilder, Milkshape 3D

Using Qt.

I know what your thinking GTFO not possible. Just hold on there and let me explain for a minute....

The thing is not only is this possible but has been for quite a few years now, the only thing thats blocking us from having the type of
    application I just described is "Politics" and "Compromise" in the Linux community. We could literally end Microsoft, Apple, Oracle,
    Autodesk, The Foundry, Adobe, Unity3D ... In a years time "IF....IF" we would all just work together. But we are not going to and we
    won't do purely to "Politics" and "Compromise".

The reason this thing is in toolkit form is because it seriously violates the GPL in a big way as a single application.

The solution was to build it in toolkit form, with each plugin implementing a particular feature, none of which on there own would
    land me in any legal trouble. The application you see below is what you get, other than that you have to download all plugins via
    its embedded bittorrent client, thats setup to look kinda like an app store.

Consequently I ended up in a "KISS", "Make Small Incremental Improvements/Commit Frequently" and "Do one thing and do it well" type situation.