Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laptop GPU/display selection for Linux

Hi,

Facing a purchase of a new laptop. I'm a somewhat proficient Linux user but when it comes to graphics sometimes I feel almost like a complete noob. Here is what I need the laptop for:

1) Watching movies - either with a standalone player or from a (hopefully hardware-accelerated) browser. Made some research on browsers, things look more or less doable in Linux. Also want to be as future-proof as possible (decoding 4K HDR and 8K possibly?).
    2) Plenty of work on a KVM-based Win 7 VM. No Windows without virtualization stays on my hardware.
    3) Standard office apps, no gaming, no video editing, no external monitor or TV used.

Due to a whole bunch of reasons I'll be going for HP Omen or ZBook. For the sake of discussion assume the following is present in the system: NVMe SSD, 16GB DDR4 RAM (2400 or 2666MHz), Core i7-8750H CPU, Lubuntu x64 (16.04 or 18.04 - doesn't matter to me).

I want a 17-inch display and here is what I can chose from (and unfortunately never see with my own eyes before purchase):

1) FHD 120Hz 300 nits
    2) FHD 144Hz 300 nits
    3) UHD 60Hz 300 nits
    4) UHD 60Hz HP DreamColor 400 nits

Read some stuff about scaling on small-size (e.g. below 20-inch) 4K displays. I wonder how Ubuntu handles this issue? Can't find anything useful in forums.

Used to have a very-good 23kg 19-inch 120Hz Sony Trinitron back in the day I prefer it every day before these crappy modern LCD displays. Does 120/144Hz on LCDs feel like good old CRT monitors in your experience?

GPUs I can chose from are:

1) Intel - HD 630. It has sufficient power (and more importantly - driver support) to decode 1080p and also 4K encoded with HEVC Main 10 profile. Has anyone tried 4K HDR, 8K?