Sending Atombios command from Linux with amdgpu module

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sending Atombios command from Linux with amdgpu module

Hi, it may be FAQ but I could not find it.
    I've investigated about controlling RX480 GPUs, and it seems I should use Atombios command.
    I've heard of "ring buffer", and I know there is a Command table in the bis, and also parameters tables (Ive identified the C header to decode those structs).
    Since I'm new to that questions, I could not even find where it is documented.
    I suspect it can be done with ioctl, allocating memory , writing command/assembler/structures, sending command, getting back structures...
    Is there some samples, some getting started documentation?
    I'm currently interested mostly in the I2C, voltage initialization, and why not clock initialization... but just a hello world would probably make me understand the keys, allowing me to go and search further.
    A noob.

OK, let's see...

First thing to get clear is that there is no connection between "command submission" (sending work to the GPU) and the "command table" in AtomBIOS.

We only use AtomBIOS for a small number of operations, mostly chip initialization and getting information about the hardware (eg what the connectors are, or how to set PLL divider values for specific clock frequencies)... for everything else the driver goes straight to hardware including anything to do with ring buffers.

AtomBIOS has four main components:

- command tables (callable functions written as a series of bytecode sequences interpreted by driver or vbios)
    - data tables (data structures describing the details of each GPU subsystem including connectors etc..)
    - bytecode interpreter only used by BIOS - interpreter used by the driver is in atom.c/atom.h plus callbacks in amdgpu_device.c (search for "cail")
    - x86 assembly wrapper to conform to standard VBIOS calling conventions