X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about the OSS driver

Hey,
    My card is an ATI Radeon HD 5670 Redwood
    I have always used the binary ATI driver but now that I want to use gnome shell with Opensuse 12.1 (does catalyst 11.11 work with shell?), I think I may have to use the open source driver. My main questions are:
    Will I be able to get decent performance on some native and Wine games I have such as Oilrush, Hereos of Newerth, Enemy Territory Quake Wars, Trine, Guild Wars (wine) ect.
    I have heard the open source driver has issues with heating and power consumption, how much truth is there to this? Would I be better off waiting for Catalyst 11.12?

Oilrush looks pretty advanced, I don't think it will work on the open source drivers. Of course I'm no expert on this.

I have a Radeon HD6520G which is supposed to be Evergreen based, and I was unable to play Trine even using mesa from the xorg-edgers PPA in Ubuntu. I think some people have been able to get it to work though.

Comment

Originally posted by sandy8925 View Post
      I have a Radeon HD6520G which is supposed to be Evergreen based, and I was unable to play Trine even using mesa from the xorg-edgers PPA in Ubuntu.
      Try This PPA http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...aphics-Drivers its has some Features enabled by default that fix many Problems.

Comment

If you are using a 32 bit app on a 64 bit distro, you need to update your 32 bit 32 drivers as well. Lots of 64-bit distros ship old outdated 32-bit 3D drivers or rarely update them.

Comment

All the games you listed should work. Unigine benchmarks all work (some advanced effects are missing) as does OilRush. Quake4, ET:QW, Doom3, Trine, etc. all work.

There are no power and heat issues if you use profiles. The trick is that you need to switch power states manually, which can be a bit of a nuissance. Keeping it in low power mode is fine for most tasks, you just need to power it up to play games.