Kernel Mode Setting + Dynamic Clocks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Kernel Mode Setting + Dynamic Clocks

I'm a totally a newb at the ATI open source landscape.
    I currently have the latest drm-radeon-testing installed with 2.6.33. I am trying to use kms with dynamic clocks on a Mobility Radeon 5830.

KMS seems to work fine but as soon as I boot with radeon.dynpm=1, I get a black screen and an apparent lock.

I don't see any relevant errors in any logs.

Is this expected behavior because dynamic clocks is not implemented with evergreen or, is there something else going on?

There is no power management with KMS yet, I don't think.

Comment

Originally posted by Melcar View Post
      There is no power management with KMS yet, I don't think.
      I was under the impression that drm-radeon-testing had some new dynamic clock algorithms.

Comment

Not with KMS. Radeon alone has DynamicPM, ClockGatting, and ForceLowPowerMode, all of which reduce core clocks in varying degrees. I think there is some initial work being done with KMS power management, but I haven't been able to test it out yet.

Comment

Originally posted by dalingrin View Post
          I'm a totally a newb at the ATI open source landscape.
          I currently have the latest drm-radeon-testing installed with 2.6.33. I am trying to use kms with dynamic clocks on a Mobility Radeon 5830.

KMS seems to work fine but as soon as I boot with radeon.dynpm=1, I get a black screen and an apparent lock.

I don't see any relevant errors in any logs.

Is this expected behavior because dynamic clocks is not implemented with evergreen or, is there something else going on?