Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please help on Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz P9500

Hi guys,

Would someone know if this processor would support a 64-bit OS?

Thanks a lot

Yes it does, like every other Core 2 CPU.

Intel's specs on this CPU:

"Supported Features: Intel? EM64T"

EM64T means 64-bit. Every Core 2 supports it.

Comment

thanks a lot for the indication. I was actually thinking about switching from Vista 32-bit to a 64-bit OS, would I see a big difference in terms of speed? (I have never tried 64-bit before that's why I ask)

Comment

No, you would only see visible speedup in intensive tasks. Ability to use more RAM and wider registers are the main advantages.

If comparing win64 with linux64, there's the additional fact that win apps that are available as 64-bit versions can be counted with two hands. And half of those are open-source. On linux most if not all apps work 64-bit.

Comment

To touch on your point about RAM. Right now, I have 4GB of RAM but I was told that a 32-bit OS (which I have right now) can only utilize 3GB or so. Basically, if I install a 64-bit OS, I'll be able to fully utilize my RAM?

Thanks a lot

Comment

Yes.
            It's because with 32bits everything has to fit in 4gb; your main memory, your graphics card memory (4gb - 512mb), the banks in your expansion cards (some tens of kilobytes each), sometimes the bios, etc, etc, you get the idea.

Comment

I see, thanks a lot for your help. I just have one last one again about the switch to 64-bit. For processors that support 64-bit, when switching to a 64-bit OS, is there a need to change anything in the Bios or it's done automatically since the processor already has the 64-bit feature?

I appreciate your help!

Comment

It's done automatically.

Comment

Originally posted by paachaa View Post