Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help with new video card

Hello everybody

first of all I have to admit that I have very little knowledge about linux. Secondly I have started the same thread in ubuntuforums.org but since nobody seems to be able to help me there, please forgive me for double posting this.

My troubles started when I set up my new computer. I have installed Win7 and then ubuntu 9.4. Unlike in windows where the resolution of my screen (2048 x 1152) is correctly displayed, I cannot change the resolution in ubuntu above 1536 ? 1152. My first attempt to resolve the problem was to install the "fglrx" driver. I used the package manager to do so and everything seemed to be ok until I tried to reboot the machine, which didnt work anymore (screen remains black). Since I was still able to boot in recovery mode I managed to somehow uninstall the driver and boot again in the normal mode. Next I installed the driver "radeonhd" which again went whitout any (visible) trouble, I also was able to boot thereafter. The only problem is now that I still cannot change the screen resolution.

Conclusion: I need help with that.

Thanks in advance for any attempt to help me solve my problem.

Hardware:
    -MoBo: gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P (AM3)
    -CPU: AMD PhenomII X3 720 BE
    -VideoCard: club3d hd5850
    -PSU: xigmatek GO GREEN (500Watt)

PS: I do not need any 3d performance under ubuntu, just screen resolution.

Well with U 9.4 you can still use fglrx 9-9 driver. Login to vt1 (ctrl+alt+f1):

Code:
    sudo rm -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf*
    wget -N http://kanotix.com/files/install-fglrx-debian.sh
    sudo sh install-fglrx-debian.sh
    fglrx should work but you get an ati unsupported logo. As soon as ati releases 9-10 final driver my script will be updated and the logo will not be there anymore. Just repeat those commands.

Comment

Does 9.9 support his GPU (HD 5850)?

Comment