Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting a new laptop - what shall I get?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting a new laptop - what shall I get?

Hi all...

The lease on my current work laptop is about to expire and I'll be getting a new one. Whatever I get, I'll be stuck with it for about two years, so I want to make sure I do this right.

I've been using an Compaq with an AMD processor and NVIDIA graphics - specifically a MCP51/GeForce Go 6100. While this has done me ok, I've had a few issues with graphics that I figure are caused by drivers, and the system has not felt as responsive as I feel it should be - on the odd occasion that I boot into Windows XP, everything feels faster and smoother.

I'm a programmer, so my work is pretty much just glorified text editing. Also, I'm not particularly concerned about having open-source drivers - if proprietary is going to do the best job, then so be it.

I can get pretty much anything I want, within reason - Intel, ATI or NVIDIA. So, my question is this - which company's hardware (and drivers) are in the best shape currently on Linux, and which company's hardware is going to serve my needs best for the next two years?

Thanks,

Matt

Stay away from AMD Laptops with dedicted ATI gfx chip. When you are unlucky it has an onboard VGA + extra chip then fglrx is too stupid to init at least one of me...

Comment

Kano, you're talking about switchable graphics ie *two* ATI gfx chips (one integrated, one discrete) right ?

The issue AFAICS is that the switchable graphics spec calls for BIOS options to disable one of the two GPUs in order to support non-Windows OSes. It doesn't seem that all the laptops have been built with that BIOS option (or nobody has found it yet), and AFAIK it's those systems which are showing the problem.
      Last edited by bridgman; 06 August 2009, 09:27 PM.
      Test signature

Comment

Originally posted by mattparlane View Post