new h/w build, new to Linux, concerned about compatitibily issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new h/w build, new to Linux, concerned about compatitibily issues

I found this site today and spent time reviewing several articles and discussions to get a sense of the current state of driver support for Linux running on various hardware (especially CPU & GPU). I'm still running an ancient XP machine I built in '08 (A8V Deluxe w/Opteron 185). It has served me well and still satisfies nearly my computing needs -- except, notably, browsing. I tend to put off upgrades as long as possible. Upgrades are so damn painful!

I just finished ordering parts for my new machine... 7700K (which I will be underclocking, but that's another story), ASRock Z270 Extreme4, 32GB DDR4 (2400), 850 EVO, EVGA GeForce GTX-1050.

This time, I'm done with MS. I'm refuse to jump into the Win10 quagmire. The problem is, I have zero Linux experience. Although I'm an engineer (in grad school 35 years ago, I learned System 360 assembly, Pascal and a bit of Cobol), my programming experience since then has been limited to writing DOS batch files and a few HTML tags. But I've been assured that once I make the transition to Linux, I'll never look back. No doubt. Nevertheless, I'm apprehensive about the transition. To make things smoother, I plan to mount my existing XP installation in VirtualBox and only use Linux to run the VM and for browsing. That way I transition my other apps to Linux gradually, as necessary.