Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading To The ASUS RT-AC88U Wireless Router

Phoronix: Upgrading To The ASUS RT-AC88U Wireless Router

This past week my main router I've been using for the past three years failed on me (the ASUS RT-AC66U) so I quickly set out to replace this router with a superior model that can better suit my needs today. The router I ended up going for was the expensive ASUS RT-AC88U, but so far it's working out very well...

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...Router-Upgrade

Personally I would never buy a router that does not have guaranteed support for running a FOSS OS on it (mostly DD-WRT). I do have one ASUS device, but I bought it specifically because it has 8 MiB of flash and supports DD-WRT (which needs that space for advanced features).

Comment

I'm holding out for the Mikrotik hAP ac router in Jan; direct SFP ONT support with high power dual-band radios. The RB3011 would have been the choice if I didn't need 2.4GHz legacy support.

Comment

I have recently upgraded to RT-AC87U and couldn't have been happier. I use merlin-wrt firmware for it as it combines the official one with the fixes and extra features provided by merlin. Works superbly well as NAS, does my VPN with routing policies and of course provides stellar wifi coverage. it was bloody expensive though, but I believe it was worth the price.

Comment

Anyone looking for a new router should check out this project on Indiegogo.

Comment

Since I already have Ubiquiti EdgeRouter ER5-POE 5 Port Router, I'm planning to get a Ubiquiti UAP AC Pro (it's much more expensive to get it in Amazon) and a 48v 60W PoE adapter to go with my EdgeRouter.

Besides, I like to keep Wi-Fi separate from my main router and I don't care for consumer routers anymore. About a year ago, I have moved my routing functionality off of my Ubuntu Server in order to keep my main network up and running at all times.

Comment

Originally posted by ileonte View Post