Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: XBMC 13.0 "Gotham" Has Been Officially Released

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,812

    Default XBMC 13.0 "Gotham" Has Been Officially Released

    Phoronix: XBMC 13.0 "Gotham" Has Been Officially Released

    XBMC 13.0 is officially available this morning with more than 500 commits from over 50 developers to bring out this "Gotham" release...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTY4MTE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    677

    Default

    DXVA2 with HD2XXX and HD3XXX and HD42XX are Broken with gotham because it can only decode one stream at the same time and gotham open open one files two times. Since one year the bug is known and ignored. In the Beta they say that they don't fix it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    DXVA2 with HD2XXX and HD3XXX and HD42XX are Broken with gotham because it can only decode one stream at the same time and gotham open open one files two times. Since one year the bug is known and ignored. In the Beta they say that they don't fix it.
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't DXVA the DirectX Video Acceleration API from Microsoft?

    I don't think anyone in this forum cares about broken DXVA support. Why do you run Windows on a media center pc?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    677

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Temar View Post
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't DXVA the DirectX Video Acceleration API from Microsoft?
    Yes, DXVA is the API for Microsoft Windows.

    Quote Originally Posted by Temar View Post
    I don't think anyone in this forum cares about broken DXVA support.
    Why do you think that?

    Quote Originally Posted by Temar View Post
    Why do you run Windows on a media center pc?
    Because its working. Do you tried to use the UVD Engine on those cards? And many ppl don't have a dedicated media PC, they use the Desktop/Laptop as Media PC and connect it with HDMI.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    Why do you think that?
    As a senior member with 566 posts you should know.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    Because its working. Do you tried to use the UVD Engine on those cards? And many ppl don't have a dedicated media PC, they use the Desktop/Laptop as Media PC and connect it with HDMI.
    No, I'm using a Nvidia card for my media center pc. XBMC works quite well with VDPAU.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    677

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Temar View Post
    As a senior member with 566 posts you should know.
    Then please stop to think in black and white.

    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTYxNDQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Temar View Post
    No, I'm using a Nvidia card for my media center pc. XBMC works quite well with VDPAU.
    Thats nice. My HD5770 works quite well with VDPAU too. But the UVD works only with HD4XXX Cards and newer (except HD4200, HD4850 and HD4870). And my Media PC didn't work with GNU/Linux but it works without problems with Windows 7. Why i should use a System that doesn't fit the requirements?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    Then please stop to think in black and white.

    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTYxNDQ
    Dude, you are barking at the wrong tree, I don't have anything against Windows. I just found it odd that anyone would post his Windows problems on the Phoronix forums.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Temar View Post
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't DXVA the DirectX Video Acceleration API from Microsoft?

    I don't think anyone in this forum cares about broken DXVA support. Why do you run Windows on a media center pc?
    XBMC works better on Windows 7. At least the 12.3 for Ubuntu from PPA sucks . Have do you ever use XBMC? You should know about this....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philipmorris View Post
    XBMC works better on Windows 7. At least the 12.3 for Ubuntu from PPA sucks . Have do you ever use XBMC? You should know about this....
    I've been using XBMC on Linux since its very first Linux release. Haven't had any problems for years now. Also I'm using the official XBMC PPA for Ubuntu 12.04.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by philipmorris View Post
    XBMC works better on Windows 7. At least the 12.3 for Ubuntu from PPA sucks . Have do you ever use XBMC? You should know about this....
    Can't say I have found the same. In fact I have found the exact opposite finding more issues with the Windows release (and needing more "hacking" to function satisfactory) vs "it just works" on openSUSE.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •