Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: AMD Has A New Radeon DRM Performance Patch

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,391

    Default AMD Has A New Radeon DRM Performance Patch

    Phoronix: AMD Has A New Radeon DRM Performance Patch

    AMD has a new Radeon DRM kernel driver patch pending that is able to offer Linux gaming performance improvements by improving the video memory bandwidth performance by the open-source graphics driver...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTY3OTE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Actually Jay Cornwall implemented this stuff and Alex pushed it through review.

    I was just the one to cleanup and release the patches.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,440

    Default

    So, considering the HD6700 series is just a rebrand of the HD5700s, does that mean HD5700 owners will be affected too?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,052

    Default

    I'm still confused that sending patches in plaintext without any context to mailing lists is still the preferred way.

    There are always issues with linebreaks, spaces somewhere getting added or lost, and then there's no information what this applies on top of. 3.15-rc3?

    Almost, but only with --ignore-space-change --ignore-whitespace...

    Code:
    Checking patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/cik.c...
    Hunk #1 succeeded at 5328 (offset -67 lines).
    Hunk #2 succeeded at 5341 (offset -67 lines).
    Checking patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/ni.c...
    Checking patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.h...
    Hunk #1 succeeded at 848 (offset -6 lines).
    Checking patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_vm.c...
    Checking patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/si.c...
    Applied patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/cik.c cleanly.
    Applied patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/ni.c cleanly.
    Applied patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.h cleanly.
    Applied patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_vm.c cleanly.
    Applied patch drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/si.c cleanly.
    Anyway, compiling now, let's see whether this does something with PRIME.

    So from the article I guess this is definitely not going into 3.15?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,402

    Default

    This patch set is only relevant for asics that use GPUVM. Technically cayman and newer, but we don't use GPUVM by default on cayman, so really SI+.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    222

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
    So, considering the HD6700 series is just a rebrand of the HD5700s, does that mean HD5700 owners will be affected too?
    You know the answer => no

    Note that only the 6750 and 6770 are Evergreen cards. The 6790 is a true Northern Islands.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,402

    Default

    The patch is irrelevant when not using GPUVM since access to vram is always direct and does not go through a page table.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ukraine
    Posts
    146

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •