Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: stresscpu2 test : Undefined sys.power in system_monitor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    France, near LILLE (north)
    Posts
    15

    Default stresscpu2 test : Undefined sys.power in system_monitor

    Hello

    I launched Phoronix-test-suite 5.0.1, on a 14.04 Ubuntu Linux version
    the PHP version is 5.5.9 (with PCNTL included)
    variables MONITOR=all and PERFORMANCE_PER_WATT=1 (curiously, with this kind of machine - see below - I was quite sure to obtain "Watt" measurements, but ...)

    I ran stresscpu2 and the test failed , followed by the message : [NOTICE] Undefined: sys.power in system_monitor:169

    Any idea about the reason why, please ?

    Thanks !!

    below, the whole printscreen :
    ************************************************** ********************
    phoronix-test-suite benchmark stresscpu2
    PHP Warning: Module 'pcntl' already loaded in Unknown on line 0
    PHP Warning: Module 'pcntl' already loaded in Unknown on line 0

    Phoronix Test Suite v5.0.1

    Installed: pts/stresscpu2-1.0.1


    StressCPU2 Stress-Test 2:
    pts/stresscpu2-1.0.1
    Processor Test Configuration
    1: 5 Minutes
    2: 30 Minutes
    3: 1 Hour
    4: 6 Hours
    5: 12 Hours
    6: Test All Options
    Run-Time: 1


    System Information

    Hardware:
    Processor: 2 x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz (8 Cores), Motherboard: HP ProLiant DL360 G6, Chipset: Intel 5520 I/O + ICH10, Memory: 4096MB, Disk: 73GB LOGICAL VOLUME, Graphics: AMD ES1000 128MB, Network: Broadcom NetXtreme II BCM5709 Gigabit

    Software:
    OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Kernel: 3.13.0-24-generic (i686), Desktop: Unity 7.2.0, Display Server: X Server 1.15.1, Display Driver: radeon 7.3.0, Compiler: GCC 4.8.2, File-System: ext4, Screen Resolution: 1024x768


    Recently Saved Test Results:
    - stresscpu2 [Today]
    - tscp2 [Today]
    - tscp [Today]

    Enter a name to save these results under: stresscpu2_bis
    Enter a unique name to describe this test run / configuration: Stresccpu2_bis

    If you wish, enter a new description below to better describe this result set / system configuration under test.
    Press ENTER to proceed without changes.

    Current Description: 2 x Intel Xeon L5520 testing with a HP ProLiant DL360 G6 and AMD ES1000 128MB on Ubuntu 14.04 via the Phoronix Test Suite.

    New Description:

    To Provide Performance-Per-Watt Outputs.

    Sensors To Be Logged:
    - CPU Frequency
    - CPU Usage
    - Drive Read Speed
    - Drive Write Speed
    - Memory Usage
    - Network Usage
    - Swap Usage
    - System Iowait
    - System Temperature


    StressCPU2 Stress-Test 2:
    pts/stresscpu2-1.0.1 [Run-Time: 5 Minutes]
    Test 1 of 1
    Estimated Trial Run Count: 1
    Started Run 1 @ 19:13:06
    The test run did not produce a result.
    Final: 0 (Stress Test)

    [NOTICE] Undefined: sys.power in system_monitor:169


    The following tests failed to properly run:

    - pts/stresscpu2-1.0.1: Run-Time: 5 Minutes

    Finishing System Sensor Monitoring Process
    ************************************************** **********************

  2. #2

    Default

    Do you have a WattsUp USB power meter, running on battery, or any other AC/DC power meter connected to the system?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    France, near LILLE (north)
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hi

    Well, no kind of wattmeter plugged during the test - even if I plan to plug Yocto-Watt wattmeter in the future ... ;o)) -

    I did the same test on the notebook I use right now (an old Dell Inspiron 1501), with same LINUX (with just a newer PHP : 5.5.11, with pcntl ext "php -m |grep pcntl" returns "pcntl")

    same result : [NOTICE] Undefined: sys.power in system_monitor:169

    Thanks

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by serguai59 View Post
    Hi

    Well, no kind of wattmeter plugged during the test - even if I plan to plug Yocto-Watt wattmeter in the future ... ;o)) -

    I did the same test on the notebook I use right now (an old Dell Inspiron 1501), with same LINUX (with just a newer PHP : 5.5.11, with pcntl ext "php -m |grep pcntl" returns "pcntl")

    same result : [NOTICE] Undefined: sys.power in system_monitor:169

    Thanks
    Was the laptop running on battery and exposing a system power output when running: phoronix-test-suite system-sensors

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    France, near LILLE (north)
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hi

    In fact both tests have been done on two very different kind of machines

    the first (as included in the post) is a server

    the second, even if a notebook, was powered through a cable (I removed batteries years ago as they were too weak ...)
    below it's description :
    ************************************************** **********************
    phoronix-test-suite system-info

    Phoronix Test Suite v5.0.1
    System Information

    Hardware:
    Processor: AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-50 @ 1.60GHz (2 Cores), Motherboard: Dell Inspiron 1501, Chipset: AMD RS480/RS482/RS485 + SB600, Memory: 2048MB, Disk: 320GB Western Digital WD3200BPVT-2, Graphics: AMD Mobility Radeon Xpress 200 128MB, Audio: Conexant ID 2bfa, Network: Broadcom BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX + Broadcom BCM4311 802.11a/b/g

    Software:
    OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Kernel: 3.13.0-24-generic (i686), Desktop: Unity 7.2.0, Display Server: X Server 1.15.1, Display Driver: radeon 7.3.0, OpenGL: 2.1 Mesa 10.1.0 Gallium 0.4, Compiler: GCC 4.8.2, File-System: ext4, Screen Resolution: 1280x800
    ************************************************** **************************

    the only common details are the Linux version , the phoronix-test-suite version, the PHP quite identical ... and the error too ;o)))

    For sure, the notebook is too old to support power info, but on server side, it's a beautiful HP server, not so old and completely

    To-morrow, when I'll be in office I'll launch the system-sensors command

    on notebook side : it answers :
    **************************************************
    phoronix-test-suite system-sensors

    Phoronix Test Suite v5.0.1
    Supported Sensors

    CPU Frequency: 800.00 Megahertz
    CPU Temperature: 53.0 Celsius
    CPU Usage: 35.75 Percent
    Drive Read Speed: 0.00 MB/s
    Drive Write Speed: 0.00 MB/s
    Memory Usage: 503 Megabytes
    Network Usage: 0 Kilobytes/second
    Swap Usage: 286 Megabytes
    System Iowait: 0.00 Percent
    System Temperature: 55.00 Celsius

    Unsupported Sensors

    - CPU Fan Speed
    - CPU Power Consumption
    - CPU Voltage
    - GPU Fan Speed
    - GPU Frequency
    - GPU Power Consumption
    - GPU Temperature
    - GPU Usage
    - GPU Voltage
    - Drive Temperature
    - System Fan Speed
    - System Power Consumption
    - System V12 Voltage
    - System V3 Voltage
    - System V5 Voltage


    **************************************************

    But I repeat, on the server, I do not understand the error reported by phoronix-test-suite

    Thank you for the help

    Serge

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by serguai59 View Post
    Hi

    In fact both tests have been done on two very different kind of machines

    the first (as included in the post) is a server

    the second, even if a notebook, was powered through a cable (I removed batteries years ago as they were too weak ...)
    below it's description :
    ************************************************** **********************
    phoronix-test-suite system-info

    Phoronix Test Suite v5.0.1
    System Information

    Hardware:
    Processor: AMD Turion 64 X2 Mobile TL-50 @ 1.60GHz (2 Cores), Motherboard: Dell Inspiron 1501, Chipset: AMD RS480/RS482/RS485 + SB600, Memory: 2048MB, Disk: 320GB Western Digital WD3200BPVT-2, Graphics: AMD Mobility Radeon Xpress 200 128MB, Audio: Conexant ID 2bfa, Network: Broadcom BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX + Broadcom BCM4311 802.11a/b/g

    Software:
    OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Kernel: 3.13.0-24-generic (i686), Desktop: Unity 7.2.0, Display Server: X Server 1.15.1, Display Driver: radeon 7.3.0, OpenGL: 2.1 Mesa 10.1.0 Gallium 0.4, Compiler: GCC 4.8.2, File-System: ext4, Screen Resolution: 1280x800
    ************************************************** **************************

    the only common details are the Linux version , the phoronix-test-suite version, the PHP quite identical ... and the error too ;o)))

    For sure, the notebook is too old to support power info, but on server side, it's a beautiful HP server, not so old and completely

    To-morrow, when I'll be in office I'll launch the system-sensors command

    on notebook side : it answers :
    **************************************************
    phoronix-test-suite system-sensors

    Phoronix Test Suite v5.0.1
    Supported Sensors

    CPU Frequency: 800.00 Megahertz
    CPU Temperature: 53.0 Celsius
    CPU Usage: 35.75 Percent
    Drive Read Speed: 0.00 MB/s
    Drive Write Speed: 0.00 MB/s
    Memory Usage: 503 Megabytes
    Network Usage: 0 Kilobytes/second
    Swap Usage: 286 Megabytes
    System Iowait: 0.00 Percent
    System Temperature: 55.00 Celsius

    Unsupported Sensors

    - CPU Fan Speed
    - CPU Power Consumption
    - CPU Voltage
    - GPU Fan Speed
    - GPU Frequency
    - GPU Power Consumption
    - GPU Temperature
    - GPU Usage
    - GPU Voltage
    - Drive Temperature
    - System Fan Speed
    - System Power Consumption
    - System V12 Voltage
    - System V3 Voltage
    - System V5 Voltage


    **************************************************

    But I repeat, on the server, I do not understand the error reported by phoronix-test-suite

    Thank you for the help

    Serge
    The error isn't too descriptive but with not being able to find sys.power means that it doesn't have a way to read the system power consumption... Either via expressed IPMI information with the utility installed and proper hardware support, the WattsUp USB power meter, or running on a battery exposing the necessary data via its sysfs interfaces.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    France, near LILLE (north)
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Hello

    About the DL 360 G6 server, I think the linux ubuntu 14.04 didn't install necessary devices up to take in account the power management

    And PTS does what it can ...

    By the way, could you tell me what are the things PTS search on a linux machine up to be able to track "power infos" ?

    I saw /dev/ipmi0 for example, which seems improtant, but no idea of other PTS needs around the "power capabilities inspection"

    Thanks !!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    France, near LILLE (north)
    Posts
    15

    Default command ipmisensors from freeipmi GNU tool

    Hi

    I installed freeipmi ( http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/...reeipmi.7.html ) on the DL360 G6 server

    ipmi-sensors command displays :
    ******************************************
    ID | Name | Type | Reading | Units | Event
    1 | VRM 1 | Power Unit | N/A | N/A | 'Device Inserted/Device Present'
    2 | VRM 2 | Power Unit | N/A | N/A | 'Device Inserted/Device Present'
    3 | UID Light | OEM Reserved | N/A | N/A | 'OEM Event = 0000h'
    4 | Int. Health LED | OEM Reserved | N/A | N/A | 'OEM Event = 0000h'
    5 | Ext. Health LED | OEM Reserved | N/A | N/A | 'OEM Event = 0000h'
    6 | Power Supply 1 | Power Supply | N/A | N/A | 'Presence detected'
    7 | Power Supply 2 | Power Supply | N/A | N/A | N/A
    8 | Power Supplies | Power Supply | N/A | N/A | 'Non-redundant:Sufficient Resources from Redundant'
    10 | Fan Block 1 | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'transition to Running'
    11 | Fan Block 2 | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'transition to Running'
    12 | Fan Block 3 | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'transition to Running'
    13 | Fan Block 4 | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'transition to Running'
    14 | Fans | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'Fully Redundant'
    16 | Temp 1 | Temperature | 18.00 | C | 'OK'
    17 | Temp 2 | Temperature | 40.00 | C | 'OK'
    18 | Temp 3 | Temperature | 40.00 | C | 'OK'
    19 | Temp 4 | Temperature | 26.00 | C | 'OK'
    20 | Temp 5 | Temperature | 28.00 | C | 'OK'
    21 | Temp 6 | Temperature | N/A | C | N/A
    22 | Temp 7 | Temperature | 26.00 | C | 'OK'
    23 | Temp 8 | Temperature | 27.00 | C | 'OK'
    24 | Temp 9 | Temperature | 27.00 | C | 'OK'
    25 | Temp 10 | Temperature | N/A | C | N/A
    26 | Temp 11 | Temperature | 27.00 | C | 'OK'
    27 | Temp 12 | Temperature | 29.00 | C | 'OK'
    28 | Temp 13 | Temperature | 43.00 | C | 'OK'
    29 | Temp 14 | Temperature | 24.00 | C | 'OK'
    30 | Temp 15 | Temperature | 26.00 | C | 'OK'
    31 | Temp 16 | Temperature | 27.00 | C | 'OK'
    32 | Temp 17 | Temperature | 24.00 | C | 'OK'
    33 | Temp 18 | Temperature | 35.00 | C | 'OK'
    34 | Temp 19 | Temperature | 31.00 | C | 'OK'
    35 | Temp 20 | Temperature | 33.00 | C | 'OK'
    36 | Temp 21 | Temperature | 39.00 | C | 'OK'
    37 | Temp 22 | Temperature | 36.00 | C | 'OK'
    38 | Temp 23 | Temperature | 35.00 | C | 'OK'
    39 | Temp 24 | Temperature | 44.00 | C | 'OK'
    40 | Temp 25 | Temperature | 31.00 | C | 'OK'
    41 | Temp 26 | Temperature | 42.00 | C | 'OK'
    42 | Temp 27 | Temperature | 23.00 | C | 'OK'
    43 | Temp 28 | Temperature | 73.00 | C | 'OK'
    44 | Power Meter | Current | N/A | N/A | 'Device Enabled'
    45 | Memory | Memory | N/A | N/A | 'OK'
    ************************************************** *************************

    and the 'Power Meter' device seems enabled ...

    If you want me to dgo deeper, don't hesitate : I'd really appreciate to see phoronix-test-suite showing the electric consumption on this machine ... ;o)))

    Best regards

    Serge

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by serguai59 View Post
    Hi

    I installed freeipmi ( http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/...reeipmi.7.html ) on the DL360 G6 server

    ipmi-sensors command displays :
    ******************************************
    ID | Name | Type | Reading | Units | Event
    1 | VRM 1 | Power Unit | N/A | N/A | 'Device Inserted/Device Present'
    2 | VRM 2 | Power Unit | N/A | N/A | 'Device Inserted/Device Present'
    3 | UID Light | OEM Reserved | N/A | N/A | 'OEM Event = 0000h'
    4 | Int. Health LED | OEM Reserved | N/A | N/A | 'OEM Event = 0000h'
    5 | Ext. Health LED | OEM Reserved | N/A | N/A | 'OEM Event = 0000h'
    6 | Power Supply 1 | Power Supply | N/A | N/A | 'Presence detected'
    7 | Power Supply 2 | Power Supply | N/A | N/A | N/A
    8 | Power Supplies | Power Supply | N/A | N/A | 'Non-redundant:Sufficient Resources from Redundant'
    10 | Fan Block 1 | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'transition to Running'
    11 | Fan Block 2 | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'transition to Running'
    12 | Fan Block 3 | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'transition to Running'
    13 | Fan Block 4 | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'transition to Running'
    14 | Fans | Fan | N/A | N/A | 'Fully Redundant'
    16 | Temp 1 | Temperature | 18.00 | C | 'OK'
    17 | Temp 2 | Temperature | 40.00 | C | 'OK'
    18 | Temp 3 | Temperature | 40.00 | C | 'OK'
    19 | Temp 4 | Temperature | 26.00 | C | 'OK'
    20 | Temp 5 | Temperature | 28.00 | C | 'OK'
    21 | Temp 6 | Temperature | N/A | C | N/A
    22 | Temp 7 | Temperature | 26.00 | C | 'OK'
    23 | Temp 8 | Temperature | 27.00 | C | 'OK'
    24 | Temp 9 | Temperature | 27.00 | C | 'OK'
    25 | Temp 10 | Temperature | N/A | C | N/A
    26 | Temp 11 | Temperature | 27.00 | C | 'OK'
    27 | Temp 12 | Temperature | 29.00 | C | 'OK'
    28 | Temp 13 | Temperature | 43.00 | C | 'OK'
    29 | Temp 14 | Temperature | 24.00 | C | 'OK'
    30 | Temp 15 | Temperature | 26.00 | C | 'OK'
    31 | Temp 16 | Temperature | 27.00 | C | 'OK'
    32 | Temp 17 | Temperature | 24.00 | C | 'OK'
    33 | Temp 18 | Temperature | 35.00 | C | 'OK'
    34 | Temp 19 | Temperature | 31.00 | C | 'OK'
    35 | Temp 20 | Temperature | 33.00 | C | 'OK'
    36 | Temp 21 | Temperature | 39.00 | C | 'OK'
    37 | Temp 22 | Temperature | 36.00 | C | 'OK'
    38 | Temp 23 | Temperature | 35.00 | C | 'OK'
    39 | Temp 24 | Temperature | 44.00 | C | 'OK'
    40 | Temp 25 | Temperature | 31.00 | C | 'OK'
    41 | Temp 26 | Temperature | 42.00 | C | 'OK'
    42 | Temp 27 | Temperature | 23.00 | C | 'OK'
    43 | Temp 28 | Temperature | 73.00 | C | 'OK'
    44 | Power Meter | Current | N/A | N/A | 'Device Enabled'
    45 | Memory | Memory | N/A | N/A | 'OK'
    ************************************************** *************************

    and the 'Power Meter' device seems enabled ...

    If you want me to dgo deeper, don't hesitate : I'd really appreciate to see phoronix-test-suite showing the electric consumption on this machine ... ;o)))

    Best regards

    Serge
    It says the power meter is enabled but then for the actual values in your referenced output it actually says "N/A", do you have an actual command combination that works for your system to show that power metering works? If so, then I can add it to PTS.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    France, near LILLE (north)
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Well, I'm going to check current "ILO" HP software - Integrated Lights-Out - implementation on this machine

    Never used before, but if installed, as soon I'll connect a network cable on its dedicated ILO port, it should show the power consumed through a Web interface at the end of the cable ;o))



    If not, I have to dig deeper ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •