Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 81

Thread: ASRock AM1H-ITX: One Of The Best AM1 Mini-ITX Motherboards

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    948

    Default

    Eh, for the thread... Michael, could you do R3 governor impact/overhead : performance vs ondemand . I am seeing there 7%-30+% difference depending of gaming scenarios with both (but different) drivers, fglrx or radeon ;D.

    It is always good to remember, just turn on performance governor when you gaming .
    Last edited by dungeon; 04-28-2014 at 05:35 PM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    But i can see one thing more, everyone who overclock those Athlon 5350 to more than 2200MHz... simply just not use iGPU from SoC, but other graphics in PCIE slot .
    Not so.The only guy i saw using dGPU was that guy that was also using Nitrogen to cool it of....all other were using the iGPU and AFAIK, air cooling.

    This is self evident taking in account that for a BCLK of 132MHz, the power drain only increases 5W...hardly enough to need Nitrogen.
    Also, all others showed the values using iGPU, the thing is is that got unstable about 132MHz BCLK...

    All info i found in several places inidicate 132 MHz limit for stable using the iGPU.

    That gives a limit CPU clock for 5150 of 2112MHz and for the 5350 the limit is 2772MHz.
    That's still a lot of speed and makes iGPU at 792MHz in both cases and RAM at 2112 MHz also in both cases.

    So, in the case of 5150 is less than 2200MHz, in the case of the 5350 is still a good chunk above 2200MHz.

    Anyway, the most important thing is, noticing by PHORONIX tests how well Kabini scales with faster RAM and how well scales with the limited OC done by PHORONIX , we have to wonder how well these things will work just because of the big bump in RAM speed from 1680 to 2112 MHz and the bump in the iGPU from 600 MHz to 792MHz...not to mention the bump in CPU clock in special in the case of the 5350.

    The values of Cinebench,etc. are quite good.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    948

    Default

    Yes i can do it also (for example multiplier on 21.0 and 121 for clock that is 2547MHz, but memory stays on 1613) and all works stable just SATA beyond 105 becomes unusable - that is the main problem . I tried setting it to IDE insted of AHCI but that does not help

    But yes you can overclock it but that has downsides and you must use USBs and you can boot live distros from there no problem . What we mention here as stable overclock which is 2205MHz, that is because after that system as a whole, shows first signs of unstability - so if we can't use SATA or SATA3 speed that is not stable .
    Last edited by dungeon; 04-28-2014 at 08:38 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    Yes i can do it also (for example multiplier on 21.0 and 121 for clock that is 2547MHz, but memory stays on 1613) and all works stable just SATA beyond 105 becomes unusable - that is the main problem . I tried setting it to IDE insted of AHCI but that does not help

    But yes you can overclock it but that has downsides and you must use USBs and you can boot live distros from there no problem . What we mention here as stable overclock which is 2205MHz, that is because after that system as a whole, shows first signs of unstability - so if we can't use SATA or SATA3 speed that is not stable .

    So, after all, you managed to kinda work over 105
    Did VGA was still sending video signal out with BCLK at 121 ?

    As for your problems, this is weird because OC'ers are not using USB Pens, however, some points...

    1) IIRC, you are using the ASUS AM1M-A Mobo, ALL OC'ers are using the
    AM1I-A....the MoBos are not exactly equal even in the power train (i.e. AM1I-A have a heatsink on it, yours not), there might be other things like the BIOS.

    2) IIRC, you are using 1600MHz RAM, the OC'ers are using minimum of 1866MHz and usually 2133MHz RAM....i'm sure that if you use 2133MHz RAM and let BIOS RAM Speed in AUTO, it will achieve much faster speeds using 121MHz BCLK.
    If it still fails to reach higher speeds , put BIOS with default settings, restart, go to BIOS change RAM frquency manually to 1600MHz, restart, enter BIOS again, change BCLK and Multiplier , restart and now it has to have faster speeds.

    3) What's your NB frequency ?
    Make sure that after increase RAM speed as much as possible with above, increase NB frequency to a frequency as close as possible to RAM speed...it increases not only performance but above all, it avoids lots of crashes and instability.

    4)Are you using HDD or SSD ?
    Do you have a Pen with Gparted Live ?
    Make sure you have SATA defined to IDE in BIOS and restart before any
    attempt to install OS in disc.
    Format disc with Gparted Live, i do all my partitions Primary type, make sure you let in Gparted 1st partition with 1MB gap in the begin.
    If it still fails making instalation or boot with APU OC'ed,
    Make your APU with default values (except SATA that must be IDE), format and install with APU in default values, restart, OC APU, restart and see what happens.

    Last resort, test with diferent brand/model of SSD/HDD...sometimes when messing with BCLK, some drives are more sensitive than others...

    Hell, even if you don't mess with OC, some drives give problems, many PS4 owners are DIY upgrading their HDD with the Samsung M9T 2TB and had problems with it booting (some PS4s don't boot, others only boot if you keep power button pressed for a little more time)...theres workarounds but final solution is/was (dunno if Sony solved issue alread or not) with a firmware upgrade.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    948

    Default

    People asking there the same question, he does not mention what type of HDD is and where is connected :

    http://www.overclock.net/t/1483429/a...#post_22136691
    and classic HDD disk.
    What is classic HDD .

    http://pctuning.tyden.cz/hardware/pr...am1i-a?start=7
    hard disk classic Western Digital 500 gigabytes
    What is classic HDD . I have also classic Western Digital 1000 gigabytes .
    Last edited by dungeon; 04-29-2014 at 03:17 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    948

    Default

    Did VGA was still sending video signal out with BCLK at 121 ?
    I used DVI, but yes VGA also works @121 .

    Quote Originally Posted by AJSB View Post
    1) IIRC, you are using the ASUS AM1M-A Mobo, ALL OC'ers are using the
    AM1I-A....the MoBos are not exactly equal even in the power train (i.e. AM1I-A have a heatsink on it, yours not), there might be other things like the BIOS.
    Nope , this overclocker gain best result @3156.84 MHz and he used AM1M-A .

    http://valid.canardpc.com/xfs78d

    2) IIRC, you are using 1600MHz RAM, the OC'ers are using minimum of 1866MHz and usually 2133MHz RAM....i'm sure that if you use 2133MHz RAM and let BIOS RAM Speed in AUTO, it will achieve much faster speeds using 121MHz BCLK.
    Yes i know but that does not work stable here with my memory, i can make my 1600 module to work stable ~@1866, so i can do something like 117 for the clock and then memory works @1872, that also works fine .

    3) What's your NB frequency ?
    Bios only allows NB frequency to be manualy set on the following frequencies: 400/500/600/700/800 .

    4)Are you using HDD or SSD ?
    HDD this model.

    It is cool overclocker but all this cannot be achieved with normal SATA disks using APU SATA controller, beyond 105 mobo simply does not detect SATA3 HDD anymore (whatever i set there for SATA options) .
    Last edited by dungeon; 04-29-2014 at 06:23 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    948

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    I used DVI, but yes VGA also works @121 .
    It is cool overclocker but all this cannot be achieved with normal SATA disks using APU SATA controller, beyond 105 mobo simply does not detect SATA3 HDD anymore (whatever i set there for SATA options) .
    With normal HDD i mean, pick up any overal SATA3 HDD using SATA modes and controller ., not ruin the speed with IDE mode , not using SATA2, SATA1, USB disks, etc .

    Hell, even if you don't mess with OC, some drives give problems, many PS4 owners are DIY upgrading their HDD with the Samsung M9T 2TB and had problems with it booting (some PS4s don't boot, others only boot if you keep power button pressed for a little more time)...theres workarounds but final solution is/was (dunno if Sony solved issue alread or not) with a firmware upgrade.
    Dont know i dont have many HDDs, maybe Michael can do test with different HDDs to pass bclk beyond 105 . I also wonder what is SATA3 disk model, which can to that .
    Last edited by dungeon; 04-29-2014 at 06:40 PM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    948

    Default

    And yeah one thing i do not tried , that is what most overclockers do - using the Windows .

  9. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AJSB View Post
    The slot seems the same but if it's wired properly, it will not work, also that's a full size mSATA card....good for ASRock FM2A88X-ITX+ for example but not for this MoBo even if it supported mSATA protocol, witch it doesn't seem so.

    The maximum size that i found for sure till now in half size mSATA cards is 128GB....there is also half size bare (only the mainboard with chips and SATA connectors, no case) SSD cards with bigger capacities.
    https://teksyndicate.com/videos/plex...and-benchmarks


  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    604

    Default

    There is absolutely NOTHING in that video that contradicts what i said.
    That mSATA is full length mSATA card , this is a half length mSATA:

    http://www.sandisk.com/assets/produc...110-family.jpg

    Not only different in length , but you will notice difference in screw positions , this ASRock MoBo doesn't have the screw position to hold full length cards....and i almost bet that connector is not even wired for mSATA but only to mPCIe...notice that both standards use SAME connector shape but some signals are wired differently.

    You need that MoBo is wired in a special form and have a special BIOS to accept cards of both standards in same connector.

    I bet because in the FM2+ MoBos ASRock clearly states that connector accepts both standards, but in the AM1 MoBo only mentions mPCIe.

    Notice that there are indeed half length SSD cards specially made for mPCIe connectors, but their capacity is even smaller than the value i gaved and above all, they are EXTREMELLY slow.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •