Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: HTPC-upgrade advice: AMD Richland A8-7600 or Kaveri A10-6700T ???

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomtomme View Post
    a quick search yielded that you maybe meant 80 watts for the entire system.
    at least this says 76 watts for the system running tomb raider
    http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Process...nd-Conclusions
    80 is on the low side
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...i,3725-15.html

    What case you got. It might do better than you think.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grndzro View Post
    80 is on the low side
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...i,3725-15.html

    What case you got. It might do better than you think.
    there is no 6700T measured there...
    only the 7600 at 45 TDP and that is way below 80 Watts for the whole system all the time.

    I have this case:
    http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=84&area=

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    339

    Default

    through a riser card a very slim dGPU would fit in, but I cannot think of a cpu+gpu-combination that is safe within the limit of 120watt for 250-270 € (6700t, 2x4gb ram, miniITXmobo)

    A GeForce GTX 750 just doesn´t fit in and even a GT 630 still burns 50 W + maybe a 35 W haswell corei3 = already at almost double the TDP = not safe with 120w PSU.

    The only dGPU option might be th 30W TDP R7 240 with GDDR5 Ram, but it has only 320 stream processors.... so even less than the 7600 kaveri running at same mhz...
    and combined with a 35W TDP CPU this is still 65W TDP ...

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomtomme View Post
    there is no 6700T measured there...
    only the 7600 at 45 TDP and that is way below 80 Watts for the whole system all the time.

    I have this case:
    http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=84&area=
    My bad I messed that whole thing up.
    Seems system power came to 75 watts
    http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Process...nd-Conclusions

    Great low profile heat sink can cool 125W easy and inexpensive
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835119153
    Review
    http://www.frostytech.com/articlevie...articleID=2587

    If you are comfortable with soldering you might be able to pick up an inexpensive open frame 150W power supply that would work in the case.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomtomme View Post
    I just looked up the case specs, great looking case BTW, states max cpu cooler height is 37mm. That doesn't give much room at all, in fact it might rule out all AM2/2+ cpus. I'd look toward kabini or an AM1 system.

    Evan

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I found that the height of the AM1 cooler is 39mm. That might just fit if you are lucky.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ebpollock View Post
    I just looked up the case specs, great looking case BTW, states max cpu cooler height is 37mm. That doesn't give much room at all, in fact it might rule out all AM2/2+ cpus. I'd look toward kabini or an AM1 system.

    Evan
    Thanks!
    However, I just measured myself. From the cpu up to the cases top I have almost 50 mm. I think they state 37 mm so that you still have some air between fan and top.
    Any idea how high the boxed cooler of the 6700t is? I could find nothing!
    I could however go for a tray version and buy a custom / silent cooler

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grndzro View Post
    My bad I messed that whole thing up.
    Seems system power came to 75 watts
    http://www.pcper.com/reviews/Process...nd-Conclusions

    Great low profile heat sink can cool 125W easy and inexpensive
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835119153
    Review
    http://www.frostytech.com/articlevie...articleID=2587

    If you are comfortable with soldering you might be able to pick up an inexpensive open frame 150W power supply that would work in the case.
    Good idea to go for a big cooler. I found this one that would fit FM2 and my case AND is cheap: http://www.alternate.de/Alpenf%C3%B6...oduct/1082952?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomtomme View Post
    Thanks!
    However, I just measured myself. From the cpu up to the cases top I have almost 50 mm. I think they state 37 mm so that you still have some air between fan and top.
    Any idea how high the boxed cooler of the 6700t is? I could find nothing!
    I could however go for a tray version and buy a custom / silent cooler
    I can't help with the stock cooler height but I'm just gonna guess that its the same cooler they use on the 65W APUs and that it will be over 50mm. I'd plan an aftermarket cooler. Maybe something like this http://www.noctua.at/main.php?show=p...s_id=51&lng=en.

    And one more thing to consider is the configurable TDP of the new APUs. Here they test A8-7600 running both at 65W and 45W set via an option in the bios http://www.silentpcreview.com/AMD_A8-7600. Looks like both the A10t and A8 have the same GPU config. Food for thought. I'm interested in how this turns out as I would like to build a slim HTPC as well.

    Evan

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,334

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tomtomme View Post
    Thanks!
    However, I just measured myself. From the cpu up to the cases top I have almost 50 mm. I think they state 37 mm so that you still have some air between fan and top.
    Any idea how high the boxed cooler of the 6700t is? I could find nothing!
    The Richland stock cooler is a bit under 5cm, just measured.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •