Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 82

Thread: AMD Athlon 5350 APU On Linux

  1. #71

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tuke81 View Post
    True, like this(but it's like a build in pico psu):
    http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AM1H-ITX/
    And what are that adapter's limitations? What's it's efficiency? How do I power drives off it? Will I only be able to run a Samsung MZ-MTE1T0BW mPCIe drive? What if I add a PCIe card?

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kivada View Post
    And what are that adapter's limitations? What's it's efficiency? How do I power drives off it? Will I only be able to run a Samsung MZ-MTE1T0BW mPCIe drive? What if I add a PCIe card?
    FYI, the board has a SATA power connector on it to power peripherals. This is perfect for the typical use case where everything you need is on the board, except the hard drive and possibly an optical drive. Anything that requires more power will need an internal power supply, but most people won't need this anyway.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Those results, at least compilation, are so wrong. Don't know what went wrong during your benchmark, but I just did a test run(s) and the results are a bit different from those mentioned in the article: http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...KH-ATHLON53567

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by szarpaj View Post
    Those results, at least compilation, are so wrong. Don't know what went wrong during your benchmark, but I just did a test run(s) and the results are a bit different from those mentioned in the article: http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...KH-ATHLON53567
    Yup something went wrong at that day 3 months ago , your numbers are correct . You got perfectly that 990 vs 330 seconds for kernel compilation benchmark

    it must be 3 times faster then e-350...
    http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showt...578#post410578
    Last edited by dungeon; 07-03-2014 at 07:06 PM.

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default New results (much closer to reality)

    Yes,

    I can't blame anyone for "wrong" results. All I can say is that my results with the cheapo MSI motherboard and 8G of good ram paint an entirely different picture. From these results you are pretty much seeing a doubling of performance over E-350, and I might add that the system (only the motherboard and cpu are different from my previous e-350) idles at 3 Watts lower, and peeks pretty much the same 30 Watts.

    No one in their right mind would run only 4G of ram on a multi-purpose machine. If it was a dedicated single-app server sure, but not a desktop.

    http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...KH-1404098KH91

    the AMD Kabini 5350 is a very good low power cpu!

  6. #76
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    618

    Default Small amounts of RAM more common than you think

    Quote Originally Posted by cbxbiker61 View Post
    Yes,

    I can't blame anyone for "wrong" results. All I can say is that my results with the cheapo MSI motherboard and 8G of good ram paint an entirely different picture. From these results you are pretty much seeing a doubling of performance over E-350, and I might add that the system (only the motherboard and cpu are different from my previous e-350) idles at 3 Watts lower, and peeks pretty much the same 30 Watts.

    No one in their right mind would run only 4G of ram on a multi-purpose machine. If it was a dedicated single-app server sure, but not a desktop.

    http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...KH-1404098KH91

    the AMD Kabini 5350 is a very good low power cpu!
    There is one obvious reason someone would build a desktop with 4G of RAM: if they are building or rebuilding from existing parts and that's what they've got. I built two machines from older Phenom II x4 setups, had 8G of ram on hand. The one that got the most video editing work got 6G and the other got only two and works fine, though Kdenlive must be run by itself on the latter and projects periodically closed and reopened. In all other work it's ever done you would not notive. Both run copies of my main 64bit OS, if the smaller one got much hard use I would redistribute the RAM back to how it was in 2011 when each board had 4G and both worked fine for everything they were used for.

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Luke View Post
    There is one obvious reason someone would build a desktop with 4G of RAM: if they are building or rebuilding from existing parts and that's what they've got. I built two machines from older Phenom II x4 setups, had 8G of ram on hand. The one that got the most video editing work got 6G and the other got only two and works fine, though Kdenlive must be run by itself on the latter and projects periodically closed and reopened. In all other work it's ever done you would not notive. Both run copies of my main 64bit OS, if the smaller one got much hard use I would redistribute the RAM back to how it was in 2011 when each board had 4G and both worked fine for everything they were used for.
    Yes, if you're throwing something together for cheap, by all means reuse parts if you can get away with it.

    But really the main point is if you've got $300-$600 invested in a machine, $30-$40 for 4G only make sense. The old adage "penny wise and pound foolish" applies here.

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    @cbxbiker61

    Maybe you don't being aware of, but there are few tweaks to raise graphic performance in games of course . Keep in mind that kernel 3.16 is generaly faster for SI hardware due to VM implemented/enabled.

    So as i see you have 56 fps in Xonotic low for example, i am seeing 70 fps with kernel 3.16.

    Additionaly with hyperz enabled i have 80 fps there.

    With governor set as 'performance' 84 fps.

    New parameters to play with in kernel 3.16 are vm_size and vm_block_size can also raise perf by few fps - so currently with the current stack what i can get is 86 fps .

    All in all that is 30 fps difference or +35% in graphic performance in Xonotic 1080p low case, raised with the few tweaks .
    Last edited by dungeon; 07-29-2014 at 08:26 PM.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,241

    Default

    Of course maybe someone on Gentoo can get even 90 fps, but that is it currently .

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    439

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cbxbiker61 View Post
    Yes,

    I can't blame anyone for "wrong" results. All I can say is that my results with the cheapo MSI motherboard and 8G of good ram paint an entirely different picture. From these results you are pretty much seeing a doubling of performance over E-350, and I might add that the system (only the motherboard and cpu are different from my previous e-350) idles at 3 Watts lower, and peeks pretty much the same 30 Watts.

    No one in their right mind would run only 4G of ram on a multi-purpose machine. If it was a dedicated single-app server sure, but not a desktop.

    http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...KH-1404098KH91

    the AMD Kabini 5350 is a very good low power cpu!
    I don't know of many cases, multipurpose or otherwise, where you would need more than 4GB RAM. I'd like to know what kind of software you are using to consume so much RAM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •