Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Gallium3D's HUD Gains More Features For R600g, RadeonSI

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    375

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phoronix View Post
    Enabling the Gallium3D HUD is via setting the query types within the GALLUUM_HUD environment variable.
    Small typo here, it's GALLIUM_HUD.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI, USA
    Posts
    863

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marek View Post
    Bytes, and it's system-wide.
    So in theory I could use this to monitor a possible VRAM leak in long-running OpenCL processes (bfgminer) which eventually crash out... Just need to run glxgears or something with the HUD along-side... Or just write a program to query the kernel through libdrm, which sounds like work..

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    619

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Veerappan View Post
    So in theory I could use this to monitor a possible VRAM leak in long-running OpenCL processes (bfgminer) which eventually crash out... Just need to run glxgears or something with the HUD along-side... Or just write a program to query the kernel through libdrm, which sounds like work..
    Yeah, you can query it from any program and you should be able to see memory leaks easily.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    Does having the Gallium3D HUD enabled have an effect on in-game performance? In my limited testing it seemed to have an impact, but I have no way empirically testing that.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    619

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamish Wilson View Post
    Does having the Gallium3D HUD enabled have an effect on in-game performance? In my limited testing it seemed to have an impact, but I have no way empirically testing that.
    There is only the cost of drawing the HUD, which consists of transparent rectangles and lines. It depends on the app. You probably won't see a difference in Unigine Heaven, but you will see it in glxgears.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    561

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marek View Post
    There is only the cost of drawing the HUD, which consists of transparent rectangles and lines. It depends on the app. You probably won't see a difference in Unigine Heaven, but you will see it in glxgears.
    Does the HUD work with Mumble overlay at the same time? Does it work on all 3D applications (eg. Blender), or are there exceptions?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •