Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Do Devs play games or test what they do ?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    Yes HYPERZ is known tehnics to boost frame rate

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/635/4

    . So it is known for ~15 years , but seems not 100% known to the opensource radeon developers to make stable implementation, so that it can deserve to be enabled by default .

    For Unigine Heaven, yes some engines may use similar tehnics so hyperz does nothing there to improve performance .
    Oh, thank you! This was puzzling me for a few weeks. By the way, the most demanding game I usually play is Teeworlds, may be Dota2 later

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    75

    Default

    I added the statement on its own, it may be a co-incidence though

    R600_DEBUG=hyperz

    ^

    that one. And now i have slower performance. It would seem my FPS is capped at 50. Yet I have a 60hz monitor? GLX gears is 50 and CounterStrike fps is locked at 50fps.. this is presenting a slowed down / juddering motion as its not vsync'd properly.

    could that command have caused this? if so how to i turn it off?

    also how do i change my refresh? Im using cinnamon 2.0 and there isn't a refresh control option, so i changed to 1280 x 780 and that is running glxgears at 60fps .. so im thinking some of the weird performance here is that 1920 x 1080 is somehow now running at 50hz ..

    such pains running FOSS and AMD, not being able to easily select refresh rates
    Last edited by phill1978; 04-08-2014 at 05:11 PM.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    996

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    996

    Default

    That is for the driver, additional option for Gnome or Cinnamon i am not sure but i guess env variable CLUTTER_VBLANK=none should do a job

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Its a bug in cinnamon i just found (i think) if you switch between multiple monitors but dont have the secondary connected then the refresh seems to swap to that of the non-connected monitor on mirror.

    its ok now

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    996

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phill1978 View Post
    its ok now
    Do phill1978 play games or test what he do ?

    Just kidding .

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phill1978 View Post
    Why should I bother when 9/1000 i get no response for months
    Wow, you get responses to 99.1% of your bugs! That does sound awful.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dungeon View Post
    Do phill1978 play games or test what he do ?

    Just kidding .
    I just play games buddy

    but i want them to be smooth as a peach

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •