Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Star Conflict Takes Off On Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,611

    Default Star Conflict Takes Off On Linux

    Phoronix: Star Conflict Takes Off On Linux

    A few days ago I wrote about the Star Conflict game coming to Linux and as of today this space adventure game is officially available on Steam for Linux...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTY1MjY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    340

    Default

    What about non Steam users? Is it locked into using Steamworks or there will be a Steam-free version of the client as well?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Disapointing, game wont launch. :|

    (It cruch for some time, will open and immediately close window, and then will stay as zombie process ...)

    PS Is r600g enough to play this game?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Code:
    ./.steam/steam/SteamApps/common/star conflict/StarConflict: /lib/libcrypto.so.1.0.0: no version information available (required by ./.steam/steam/SteamApps/common/star conflict/StarConflict)
    ./.steam/steam/SteamApps/common/star conflict/StarConflict: /usr/lib/libcurl.so.4: no version information available (required by ./.steam/steam/SteamApps/common/star conflict/StarConflict)

    WTF?

    PS I have OpenSuSE, not Ubu...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Ok, that may mean that either:

    1) OpenSuSE folks botched the required libs and there are no versions info in them (unlikely) or
    2) LD path is set wrongly, and it points to lib which it should not
    3) Maybe game relay on 3rd party libs not provided by Steam runtime, and they picked Ubu versions???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    200

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by przemoli View Post
    2) LD path is set wrongly, and it points to lib which it should not
    3) Maybe game relay on 3rd party libs not provided by Steam runtime, and they picked Ubu versions???
    Both libs available in Steam Runtime. Most likely it's broken for you somehow.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by _SXX_ View Post
    Both libs available in Steam Runtime. Most likely it's broken for you somehow.
    OK So how to override LD path to Steam Runtime?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    141

    Default

    worked out of the box without any issues.. looks and performs super good..

    only problem it has is with multimonitor setup.. its switching second monitor off when fullscreen.
    windowed works fine.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQ-gLub417Q

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xpander View Post
    worked out of the box without any issues.. looks and performs super good..

    only problem it has is with multimonitor setup.. its switching second monitor off when fullscreen.
    windowed works fine.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQ-gLub417Q
    What distro?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    157

    Default NOT an MMO

    This game is quite simplistic, i don't know where Michael gets the "MMO" or X3 like thing, its not.

    This is like those shooters with capture positions and two teams, only in 3d with ships. Thats about it.

    Its nice for a casual free game, but don't expect much more from it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •