Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Linux 3.18 Should Let Radeon GPUs Clock Higher For OC'ed Cards

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,894

    Default Linux 3.18 Should Let Radeon GPUs Clock Higher For OC'ed Cards

    Phoronix: Linux 3.18 Should Let Radeon GPUs Clock Higher For OC'ed Cards

    AMD's Alex Deucher sent in another Radeon drm-next patch series this week with some more last-minute tweaks for the Linux kernel's next merge window...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTc5NzE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,339

    Default

    Hmm I never noticed this - I have my GPUs manually overclocked via BIOS changes, but I never bothered to confirm in linux if the clock settings are the same. It'll be interesting to see if this affects me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Hopefully this will make my PowerColor Radeon HD7870 Myst more than a 190 paperweight when I'm on leave at the end of this year ...
    I'd love to have a more power efficient card than my HD6970 that works under FOSS Linux drivers, especially since that means I don't have to buy a new card immediately when I buy into DDR4 systems (probably going to be late Broadwell, Skylake or - AMD, I'm hoping for a comeback in the CPU space - SkyBridge).
    I also hope to be able to ditch Windows on that rig.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,900

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrystalGamma View Post
    Hopefully this will make my PowerColor Radeon HD7870 Myst more than a 190 paperweight when I'm on leave at the end of this year ...
    I'd love to have a more power efficient card than my HD6970 that works under FOSS Linux drivers, especially since that means I don't have to buy a new card immediately when I buy into DDR4 systems (probably going to be late Broadwell, Skylake or - AMD, I'm hoping for a comeback in the CPU space - SkyBridge).
    I also hope to be able to ditch Windows on that rig.
    They've snagged their head CPU guy back from Apple, their expecting to put out a newly architectured high performance CPU at the end of next year (Last i heard)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Strange, seems to already be okay as of Linux 3.15 for R9 270:
    Code:
    uvd    vclk: 0 dclk: 0
    power level 0    sclk: 30000 mclk: 15000 vddc: 900 vddci: 850 pcie gen: 2
    uvd    vclk: 0 dclk: 0
    power level 3    sclk: 94500 mclk: 140000 vddc: 1188 vddci: 1000 pcie gen: 2
    This one is factory-OCed R9 270, it is 945MHz core and 1400 (5600) MHz GDDR5. Seems to be perfect match with vendor specs. IIRC, reference R9 270 design is just 925MHz, so if driver does not lies about pm info, it already got things right.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    221

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrystalGamma View Post
    Hopefully this will make my PowerColor Radeon HD7870 Myst more than a 190€ paperweight when I'm on leave at the end of this year ...
    I'd love to have a more power efficient card than my HD6970 that works under FOSS Linux drivers, especially since that means I don't have to buy a new card immediately when I buy into DDR4 systems (probably going to be late Broadwell, Skylake or - AMD, I'm hoping for a comeback in the CPU space - SkyBridge).
    I also hope to be able to ditch Windows on that rig.
    What distro? Are you sure DPM is enabled in your system? Did you try googling for similar problems?
    try googling:
    "some error message" "your card model here" site:bugs.freedesktop.org

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asdfblah View Post
    What distro? Are you sure DPM is enabled in your system? Did you try googling for similar problems?
    try googling:
    "some error message" "your card model here" site:bugs.freedesktop.org
    The problem is, I don't get any error messages, the screen is just blank and switching VTs via Ctrl-Alt-F* does not work.
    Sadly, few people own Tahiti-LE cards and almost all of them are Windows users.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,128

    Default

    Michael, have any such cards to benchmark?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrystalGamma View Post
    The problem is, I don't get any error messages, the screen is just blank and switching VTs via Ctrl-Alt-F* does not work.
    Hint: if things gone dire and you can't see anything, logs still could contain valuable data. So if you can reboot and boot at least somehow (maybe resorting to VGA mode temporarily, etc) - you can examine logs to see if there're something useful. Most notably, kernel log.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Michael, have any such cards to benchmark?
    I don't remember for sure offhand if any of my cards were factory-overclocked of recent generations on the AMD side... I don't believe so.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •