Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Firefox 29 Beta Pulls In Many Features

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,299

    Default

    Before you try this make sure to create a new profile just for this.
    If you want to turn on skia for drawing perform a search in about:config for cairo and replace it with skia (you should have to do it in two places).
    Skia is so much faster at drawing in canvas you won't believe it (also it uses less CPu).

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,026

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty3268 View Post
    Me too, although it seems our impressions are very different.

    I definitely see hints of Chrome coming through in this interface, but that's not really a bad thing. It's not just a copy or anything.

    I seem to have exactly the same amount of space used by the interface as before. I don't like the transparency, but the curves and new menu work just fine.

    If anything, it seems to be a little more responsive than before, which is always nice.

    I'll have to use it a bit more to confirm, but right now my first impression is that all the noise about this is about nothing. It's slightly nicer than before, but not really that much of a change, good or bad.
    A few more impressions:

    Memory use is up about 25%. Boo Of course that might not have anything to do with the UI changes, I don't what else they've done in this release.

    The reload button up in the url bar is different enough it's throwing me off when i want to click on it. I don't even remember what the old one looked like, but it seemed like it was easier to hit for some reason. It may have just shifted around and my muscle memory needs to adapt.

    Overall things look nicer and more modern than before.
    Last edited by smitty3268; 03-21-2014 at 04:12 AM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    157

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty3268 View Post
    A few more impressions:

    Memory use is up about 25%. Boo Of course that might not have anything to do with the UI changes, I don't what else they've done in this release.
    https://areweslimyet.com/

    Where? I don't see it.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ferdinand View Post
    https://areweslimyet.com/

    Where? I don't see it.
    Probably addons.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    265

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GraysonPeddie View Post
    CSS3 Variables... Interesting!

    Too bad I get this message in Chrome 34 (Beta) when I had a look at the website: http://css3.bradshawenterprises.com/blog/css-variables/



    Hah... It's been since August 2012 as written in a web page and I don't know why Chrom{e,ium} 33 or 34 supports CSS3 variables.

    Making use of CSS3 variables can be of very helpful tool for maintaining color scheme.
    You can do that today using SASS and maintain browser compatibility.
    What would be interesting is if the counters that have been in CSS for a long time
    were usable as input to other rules like animation-delay.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,001

    Default

    CSS variables are really cool.
    I wish we had them a decade ago though.

    Maybe a nicer syntax would be better though, I don't know.

    I look forward to GTK3 and Wayland support...

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,590

    Default

    gst 1.0 comes in FF30 right?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    154

    Default

    I don't mind the look of it at first glance, except for the fact that the global menu is now where my bookmarks menu button has been since Firefox 2.0, and it's one of the things I can't move. It could do with less padding too.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    105

    Default

    I don't believe people are upset about Australis for the new skin - after all, you can just change that, anyway, thanks to Classic Theme Restorer.

    It's the fact that it breaks nearly every theme and customisation available, and many of them won't be getting the necessary rewrite.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    342

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JX8p View Post
    I don't believe people are upset about Australis for the new skin - after all, you can just change that, anyway, thanks to Classic Theme Restorer.

    It's the fact that it breaks nearly every theme and customisation available, and many of them won't be getting the necessary rewrite.
    Except that it does break ANY themes (it even makes most of them look better), and 99% of addons will work just fine (addons which targeted the add-on bar will be automatically placed next to the menu button).

    So no, people are just mad about the change. Many people don't like change.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •