Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Firefox 28.0 Delivers VP9 Video Decoding, Opus In WebM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,091

    Default Firefox 28.0 Delivers VP9 Video Decoding, Opus In WebM

    Phoronix: Firefox 28.0 Delivers VP9 Video Decoding, Opus In WebM

    Mozilla Firefox 28.0 is being prepped for release right now and it comes with some exciting updates for users of this open-source, cross-platform browser...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTYzMzY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Oh damn... I was hoping they would finally release a stable, light and fast web browser...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    132

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by atari314 View Post
    Oh damn... I was hoping they would finally release a stable, light and fast web browser...
    Firefox and Chromium user here. I can't recall the last time Firefox crashed on me, so I guess that makes it quite stable (for me). I also find it to consistently consume less RAM than Chromium. Firefox 27 seems as fast as Chromium (I have a low speed connection, though).
    Last edited by Pseus; 03-17-2014 at 10:19 PM.

  4. #4

    Default Shumway

    I'm really looking forward to when they enable Shumway by default.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pseus View Post
    I also find it to consistently consume less RAM than Chromium.
    Pass `--single-process` to Chromium for an apples to apples comparison. Chromium's sandboxing comes at a high memory usage cost. It puts each site instance in an empty chroot, process namespace and network namespace. Unlike on Windows, it's able to reduce the kernel attack surface by making use of seccomp so it's not easy to bypass the sandbox.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by atari314 View Post
    Oh damn... I was hoping they would finally release a stable, light and fast web browser...
    You must be one of those users who only needed 640k............................

    There's a natural evolution between more features and larger program size. That does not necessarily equate to bloat.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,177

    Default

    So far Firefox runs fine on my smartphone. I can't complain about RAM usage.

  8. #8

    Default

    I'm on the Aurora channel, so I'm currently running 29.0a2 and my only issue with Firefox has been how it's really a cooperatively multitasked OS in 2014. When you've got as many extensions and tabs as I do, that really causes a lot of janking.

    e10s can't come soon enough.

    (It does also have a tendency to leak its way up to around 6GiB resident before I restart it, but that's some extension's fault and, hopefully, e10s will make it easier for them to implement something along the lines of Chrome's task manager so I don't have to spend days living with a crippled experience while I bisect my extension collection.)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,435

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Awesomeness View Post
    So far Firefox runs fine on my smartphone. I can't complain about RAM usage.
    I run nightly on my android devices and it's usually very solid (I've a few bugs open but they've been unable to replicate but I gave them traces so...we'll see;interestingly it was b/c of this site's commenting system that I was filing the bugs---for some reason a newline character crashed the browser).
    However, right now it's pretty unstable and it hasn't updated for more than a week...of course this is b/c I've more than 200 tabs open (it's consuming more than 400MB just by maintaining that list...why? why aren't they using lighter objects to represent old, but currently unloaded, tabs?).
    On my phone, however, I've around 130 tabs and it's running perfectly.
    IOW, ff is pretty damn spiffy, and though I like some chrome's interface more (along with their click disambiguation) I use ff b/c they produce something that is desparately needed---an alternate to webkit based browsers that are also very standards compliant.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX, USA
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Awesomeness View Post
    So far Firefox runs fine on my smartphone. I can't complain about RAM usage.
    Funny thing - one of the few sites that looks like garbage on Firefox on my Android phone is Phoronix. Looks perfect on Chrome, but I can't get font sizing correct for some reason on Firefox. Half the page looks grotesquely enormous, and half the page is so tiny that it's unreadable.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •