Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3H AMD A88X

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,646

    Default Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3H AMD A88X

    Phoronix: Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3H AMD A88X

    For those in the market for an AMD Kaveri compatible motherboard that is micro-ATX and not too expensive, the Gigabyte F2A88XM-D3H is a board worth considering that works well with Linux.

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=19945

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,333

    Default

    If you don't need two pci-e slots, pick the ds2 model of the same, mine cost 37 eur.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    75

    Arrow No lm-sensors support???????

    Does the sensor exist? But just not supported by linux kernel yet?.. Meaning, some time in the future it will be supported?..

    Also, an other question: I have a lenovo laptop with kabini APU......but running "pwmconfig" to try to make a config file for fancontrol says: "There are no usable PWM outputs."
    Is this because the laptop doesn't let you control the fan speed at all? Or is that because linux hasn't added support for fan control for kabini APUs yet?..
    The fan on the laptop is super loud all the time, even when the APU temperature is very low.........I wish there was a way to use fancontrol on this stupid laptop..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    605

    Default

    So Gigabyte sells a board which is Kaveri compatible, but ships with an outdated UEFI that does not support Kaveri, although Kaveri support can be added by flashing the firmware to the latest version.

    Way to go Gigabyte.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Michael, power draw is different on many boards, but unfortunately you never seem to measure it. Pity

    Baconmon, you should check the question mark key on your keybord, seems to be broken. If your Lenovo is a ThinkPad, try thinkfan. Works fine for my E145 (Kabini aswell). Oh, and it's all in the article, Kaveri sensor is not in the kernel yet, but will be there in 3.14 which is the next release and not "some time in the future". Accordingt to the article.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    276

    Default

    Last year I bought a Kaveri compatible MikroATX board from ASRock and I can't complain about it. The network module ist only supported by kernel >= 3.10, but otherwise everthing is quite fine. Sensorsdetect works fine and finds nct6775 as chip driver.
    The model: ASRock FM2A88M Extreme4+, costs in the EU around 50 EUR.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL 32304
    Posts
    133

    Default

    $80 not being too expensive? Hmm... I'd put $50 or under in a "not too expensive" category. And I bet Gigabyte released the motherboard since last year which did not support Kaveri yet.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,573

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sonadow View Post
    So Gigabyte sells a board which is Kaveri compatible, but ships with an outdated UEFI that does not support Kaveri, although Kaveri support can be added by flashing the firmware to the latest version.

    Way to go Gigabyte.
    I know Gigabyte has been working with retailer/distributor stock to make sure everything had a Kaveri-compatible BIOS. They announced a few weeks ago that all the stock at newegg.com was ready (I saw the notice on a newegg forum), don't know about status at other retailers.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Same board I am looking at getting for my steamOS build.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    1,485

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sonadow View Post
    So Gigabyte sells a board which is Kaveri compatible, but ships with an outdated UEFI that does not support Kaveri, although Kaveri support can be added by flashing the firmware to the latest version.

    Way to go Gigabyte.
    This is a pretty common issue with AMD boards of any brand - it's basically the side effect of them trying to allow backward compatiility. When AM3+ was released, it required a BIOS update with a non-FX CPU to upgrade it, including some of the black socket boards.

    Personally, I lucked out because I have a 3-year-old white socket motherboard that happens to be AM3+ compatible, and I used my old Athlon II to do the upgrade. I'm not sure what other people do when they buy a new board that doesn't ship with the upgrade and when they don't have an older CPU.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •