Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Mesa 10.1 Should Make It Into Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,080

    Default Mesa 10.1 Should Make It Into Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

    Phoronix: Mesa 10.1 Should Make It Into Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

    It looks like Mesa 10.1 will make it into Ubuntu 14.04 LTS ahead of its feature freeze...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTYwNzQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Test test test! Hopeful for no regressions. From an Open Source AMD driver user, 10.1 is a KEY feature to making 14.04 LTS great for the long haul.

    Would be a boon if they compiled with --enable-vdpau out of the box too..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    627

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinf28 View Post
    Test test test! Hopeful for no regressions. From an Open Source AMD driver user, 10.1 is a KEY feature to making 14.04 LTS great for the long haul.

    Would be a boon if they compiled with --enable-vdpau out of the box too..
    ^^ Everything you said there.

    It will also trickle down to UBUNTU derivatives like Linux Mint.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinf28 View Post
    Test test test! Hopeful for no regressions. From an Open Source AMD driver user, 10.1 is a KEY feature to making 14.04 LTS great for the long haul.

    Would be a boon if they compiled with --enable-vdpau out of the box too..
    That and 3.14 would be realy grate.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    563

    Default

    Can we please add a link in the main article to the call for test, so we can actually send testers to the right place? Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    66

    Default

    at least in archLinux the vdpau is disabled for intel and amd wich is logic because is a nvidia technology and must be unstable in other manufacutes

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,173

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by felipe View Post
    at least in archLinux the vdpau is disabled for intel and amd wich is logic because is a nvidia technology and must be unstable in other manufacutes
    Huh? Intel doesn't even support VDPAU, they have their own VAAPI solution they created themselves. And AMD supports VDPAU very well. Back up your statements with bug reports if you can.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    221

    Default no!

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty3268 View Post
    Huh? Intel doesn't even support VDPAU, they have their own VAAPI solution they created themselves. And AMD supports VDPAU very well. Back up your statements with bug reports if you can.
    intel suports vdpau. need to install some libraries

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    702

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrecorreia View Post
    intel suports vdpau. need to install some libraries
    Intel dosn't but otheres have made translators.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,173

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andrecorreia View Post
    intel suports vdpau. need to install some libraries
    Do you mean the vaapi -> vdpau wrapper? Is that an official project from intel, or just something some random people hacked together real quick?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •