Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: GNOME 3.12 Will Let You Disable Geolocation Support

  1. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wargames View Post
    Yes, too bad XFCE depends on GTK+ which is controlled by the GNOME team. I'm waiting for Wayland+Hawaii...
    Gtk+ is still pretty decent, I would however prefer if some other entity controlled it other than GNOME. In my opinion the theming change from version 2 to 3 was a disaster, even today I have problems with theming now and then. The least they could have done was emulating or adding compatibility for the version 2 theming until they are able to completely drop version 2, which wont be happening anytime soon.

    Also, they advertise Gtk+ as cross-platform which is not completely true. Ever tried setting up a build environment for Gtk+ on windows? I tried, it is a mess. I don't know if windows support has been improved since then, as it was quite a while ago. Windows was a second class citizen for Gtk+ the last time I tried it.

    While I like Qt, it also has its fair share of flaws. In my opinion, the largest flaw is that it is not written in C. Why, you ask? it's simple, because the majority of free and open source projects are written in C and they will not introduce any C++ into their project just for the GUI. Also, the Qt specific preprocessor (or whatever it's called?)... do they really need that?

    If Qt would have been written in C, the moment it went GPL a lot more free and open source projects would have added a Qt gui next to their Gtk+ gui.

    You can easily create C++ bindings for a C project, but it is more complicated the other way around...

  2. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AnonymousCoward View Post
    Windows was a second class citizen for Gtk+ the last time I tried it.
    Windows was a second class citizen for Gtk+ the last time I tried developing with it.

    To clarify further, I was even advised on irc against using Gtk+ for any software that needs to support Windows at that time, as they didn't even have a proper maintainer for it (it was version 2.8 I think, don't know if things changed or not).

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    How is this useful?

    Any app that wanted geolocation data would just get your IP and look it up from there...
    Perhaps, but even though, how does that make my argument wrong? IP lookup is just a technical choice, geolocalisation is the real issue here, that's what I qualified as "useful". Also I didn't say I might use it - quite the contrary because at the moment I only run GNOME on a desktop workstation, but if I had some mobile hardware running GNOME, that would be definitely something I'd like to have on it.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I have pointed this privacy leak many times, is also present on Unity because relies on gnome but the baddest part is it always crash, no matter if you are using Ubuntu (unity) or fedora (gnome) it will crash.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    991

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Danny3 View Post
    Wait, until now you couldn'd do that ? Gnome developers are really idiots.
    Even Windows has more privacy regarding this.
    Are you sure? I thought that geolocation is a new feature. Don't worry, every application will ask you for a permission to access your location. Now you will be able to disable it completely if you are paranoid about privacy. There will also be an indicator when an application uses the GeoClue Daemon. Geolocation is awesome feature, it can be used to set up your timezone automatically, weather location, language, maps, navigation... It will use data from Mozilla Location Service. Here you can test your location.
    If you want to help out GNOME as well as Mozilla, you can install an Android app MozStumbler. Here you can see the map of geolocated data.

  6. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Honton View Post
    Im happy to inform you that Gnome have the benefit of being used at enterprise level software. Right now as we speak Red Hat have a whole lot of testers doing QA on RHEL7. That is as boring as it gets and anti-CADT as it gets.

    You might want to rethink your theory. There might be another DE outthere doing endless rewrites because it was getting boring.
    It's not my theory, it's Jamie Zawinski, one of the founders of Netscape and Mozilla and all around well respected programmer.

    His criticisms still hold today as this is still how Gnome is being managed and is how far too many OSS projects are still managed.

    You'd know that if you actually read it.

  7. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AnonymousCoward View Post
    GNOME 3 is a fucking disaster. Thank god we got xfce 4, while it isn't at the quality of GNOME 2 yet, it is getting there and it is very usable.

    Since a while now I'm trying to distance myself with anything related to the GNOME project as much as possible.
    http://mate-desktop.org/ has been very good thus far, it's Gnome 2.32 with the few bits out of Gnome3's codebase that are actual improvements, leaving out all the crap to preserve the glory that is Gnome2.32.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Danny3 View Post
    Wait, until now you couldn'd do that ? Gnome developers are really idiots.
    Even Windows has more privacy regarding this.
    No, you're the idiot because geolocation is a NEW feature in 3.12 and 3.12 is not even marked stable yet.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default Geolocation is not limited to city-level

    If the reporter had contact me (the developer of geoclue and these controls in shell), I could have informed them that geoclue now has other sources of geolocation too and therefore geolocation is not limited to IP-based city-level only: http://zee-nix.blogspot.co.uk/2014/01/geoclue-211.html . Also I'm trying to add more than just simple "off/on" controls: https://raw.github.com/gnome-design-...eolocation.png

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by felipe View Post
    I have pointed this privacy leak many times, is also present on Unity because relies on gnome but the baddest part is it always crash, no matter if you are using Ubuntu (unity) or fedora (gnome) it will crash.
    I don't understand what you mean, what privacy leak? What crashes? Unity only uses GTK3 and Nautilus, the latter being candidate for replacement in the near future, so I don't see how it relies so much on GNOME3. Also are you able to use proper English? Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by omer666; 02-16-2014 at 12:51 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •