Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 42

Thread: AMD Kaveri's Open Radeon Performance Now Multiple Times Faster

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    190

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zanny View Post
    You don't want to make an xorg.conf if there isn't one - modern mesa does an autogen using the contents of xorg.conf.d, just go in there and make a file called 99-radeon.conf with these contents:

    Code:
    Section "Device"
        Driver "radeon"
        Option "ColorTiling" "on"
        Option "ColorTiling2D" "on" 
    EndSection
    How does this work for people with multiple GPUs though, or does this just apply to all devices on the system that uses the radeon driver?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by benmoran View Post
    Because I have a mini-itx rig for my main desktop, and don't plan to buy a discreet GPU any time soon. It's mostly a space issue. I've got my eye on a new fm2+ motherboard anyway that has some nice features, but I'm waiting to get an APU+MB combo at the same time. I'll do that once the performance is better than what I have.
    If you already have a rig, though, why not just build a new pc and use the old one for something else or sell it? Better than having junk parts. My current rig is a mini itx Elite 130 with an i7 and I now have a 7870 in the mail.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Spittie View Post
    Let's compare Catalyst:

    ...

    That's what I call impressive
    Good job AMD!
    Thanks. I don't see why Michael didn't run it against that bench in first place.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Espionage724 View Post
    How does this work for people with multiple GPUs though, or does this just apply to all devices on the system that uses the radeon driver?
    You can specify the busid if you want to apply to a specific instance.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL 32304
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Espionage724 View Post
    If I recall right, the Xorg.log (/var/log/Xorg.0.log on Ubuntu) should specify whether Color Tiling is on or off (just search for "tiling"). If you have multiple GPUs, it should mention tiling for each GPU.
    Looks like color tiling is already enabled for Radeon by default:

    [code]grayson@grayson-htpc:~$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep Tiling
    [ 21.594] (II) RADEON(0): KMS Color Tiling: enabled
    [ 21.594] (II) RADEON(0): KMS Color Tiling 2D: enabled[/quote]

    Thanks.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Tested on my desktop with a discrete 7770 and open source drivers:

    http://openbenchmarking.org/result/1...SO-1401267PL84

    I did try with fglrx, but my system locked up in the middle.

    EDIT:
    The tests I did see with fglrx were faster... but it was obviously less stable.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    336

    Default

    Can anyone explain what ColorTiling actually is?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarmad View Post
    Can anyone explain what ColorTiling actually is?
    Tiling is way of storing data in memory to better utilize caches and memory channels. Generally GPUs want data with 2 dimensional data locality rather than 1 dimensional (e.g., you usually only are about a small portion of the screen at any given time so it's nice to have all that data nearby in memory). Rather than storing data linearly in a big array, you might store data for 8x8 regions of the image in subsequent addresses. It improves cache locality and maximizes memory bandwidth.
    Last edited by agd5f; 01-28-2014 at 02:09 PM.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    336

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Tiling is way of storing data in memory to better utilize caches and memory channels. Generally GPUs want data with 2 dimensional data locality rather than 1 dimensional (e.g., you usually only are about a small portion of the screen at any given time so it's nice to have all that data nearby in memory). Rather than storing data linearly in a big array, you might store data for 8x8 regions of the image in subsequent addresses. It improves cache locality and maximizes memory bandwidth.
    Thanks a lot for the explanation, and for the hard work on the ATI driver

  10. #40

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by schmidtbag View Post
    I don't know exactly what XMP is, but I'm assuming that it overrides your other RAM options. It wouldn't surprise me if it prevents you from changing your FSB too.
    If your mobo supports the ability to read the ram's XMP profile(something Nvidia cooked up around the time they launched their C2D SLI chipsets) the mobo will automagically set up the ram to what the sticker says the speed, CAS and voltages are supposed to be instead of defaulting to the JEDEC standard that a normal mobo or a stick or ram without a XMP profile would do.

    Basically it's overclocking for dummies and you can over ride it with your own settings if the mobo supports it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •