Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Coreboot Gets Ported To The Lenovo X230 Ultrabook

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,123

    Default Coreboot Gets Ported To The Lenovo X230 Ultrabook

    Phoronix: Coreboot Gets Ported To The Lenovo X230 Ultrabook

    The latest Lenovo device picking up unofficial support for booting with Coreboot is the X230...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU3OTM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    142

    Default

    X201, X230...if I'm lucky, they'll get around to this X200 before I need a new laptop.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in Kansas.
    Posts
    281

    Default

    It would be really nice if they had an application that you could run that would check to see if the chip-sets on your motherboard are theoretically supported and display whether or not someone else has reported success.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    562

    Default

    However, among the open issues in using Coreboot on the Lenovo X230 is no S3 suspend support...
    What is the point of a laptop again?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default X201 and X230 at FOSDEM

    Both X201 and X230 running coreboot will be shown at FOSDEM 2014 (coreboot booth).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    AFAIK, this will only be useful to endusers if Lenovo signs a coreboot blob, or if you can manually reprogram the BIOS chip.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    226

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sonadow View Post
    What is the point of a laptop again?
    I don't suspend or hibernate any of my laptops. I either set them to turn off the screen when I shut the lid, or just shut it down when I'm not using it. S3 not working doesn't even matter to me

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ua=42 View Post
    It would be really nice if they had an application that you could run that would check to see if the chip-sets on your motherboard are theoretically supported and display whether or not someone else has reported success.
    Doesn't flashrom already have something of the sort?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,022

    Default

    Is it possible to actually get the amount of hardware tuning that usual BIOS provides (CPU config, PCI/E config, RAM config) via Coreboot?
    Because the main point of BIOS is not so booting or checking system, but setting hardware configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by ua=42 View Post
    It would be really nice if they had an application that you could run that would check to see if the chip-sets on your motherboard are theoretically supported and display whether or not someone else has reported success.
    AFAIK such application exists, its Superiotool and can be found on coreboot site.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brosis View Post
    Is it possible to actually get the amount of hardware tuning that usual BIOS provides (CPU config, PCI/E config, RAM config) via Coreboot?
    coreboot has some number of options. But additionally since you have the *source* you can modify to do anything.
    AFAIK such application exists, its Superiotool and can be found on coreboot site.
    Superiotool is just to communicate with Super I/O which isn't even present on all boards. If the board is already supported then it's in the list of supported boards. If it's not then to estimate how hard it would be to port to it, you should look into its documentation and compare with already supported boards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •