Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Coreboot Gets Ported To The Lenovo X230 Ultrabook

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    13,420

    Default Coreboot Gets Ported To The Lenovo X230 Ultrabook

    Phoronix: Coreboot Gets Ported To The Lenovo X230 Ultrabook

    The latest Lenovo device picking up unofficial support for booting with Coreboot is the X230...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU3OTM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    96

    Default

    X201, X230...if I'm lucky, they'll get around to this X200 before I need a new laptop.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in Kansas.
    Posts
    206

    Default

    It would be really nice if they had an application that you could run that would check to see if the chip-sets on your motherboard are theoretically supported and display whether or not someone else has reported success.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    504

    Default

    However, among the open issues in using Coreboot on the Lenovo X230 is no S3 suspend support...
    What is the point of a laptop again?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default X201 and X230 at FOSDEM

    Both X201 and X230 running coreboot will be shown at FOSDEM 2014 (coreboot booth).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,396

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ua=42 View Post
    It would be really nice if they had an application that you could run that would check to see if the chip-sets on your motherboard are theoretically supported and display whether or not someone else has reported success.
    Doesn't flashrom already have something of the sort?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    911

    Default

    Is it possible to actually get the amount of hardware tuning that usual BIOS provides (CPU config, PCI/E config, RAM config) via Coreboot?
    Because the main point of BIOS is not so booting or checking system, but setting hardware configuration.

    Quote Originally Posted by ua=42 View Post
    It would be really nice if they had an application that you could run that would check to see if the chip-sets on your motherboard are theoretically supported and display whether or not someone else has reported success.
    AFAIK such application exists, its Superiotool and can be found on coreboot site.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ghent
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ua=42 View Post
    It would be really nice if they had an application that you could run that would check to see if the chip-sets on your motherboard are theoretically supported and display whether or not someone else has reported success.
    That and having a preconfigured coreboot "distro" with useful payloads (syslinux?). I have long wanted to try coreboot but been afraid because of the potential problems if something goes wrong.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brosis View Post
    Is it possible to actually get the amount of hardware tuning that usual BIOS provides (CPU config, PCI/E config, RAM config) via Coreboot?
    coreboot has some number of options. But additionally since you have the *source* you can modify to do anything.
    AFAIK such application exists, its Superiotool and can be found on coreboot site.
    Superiotool is just to communicate with Super I/O which isn't even present on all boards. If the board is already supported then it's in the list of supported boards. If it's not then to estimate how hard it would be to port to it, you should look into its documentation and compare with already supported boards.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    362

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brosis View Post
    Is it possible to actually get the amount of hardware tuning that usual BIOS provides (CPU config, PCI/E config, RAM config) via Coreboot
    Coreboot itself doesn't provide any interactivity at runtime, but you can use a seabios payload or another configuration tool to modify hardware state.

    In theory, though, the even better option would be for linux to be coreboot-aware enough to be able to write into the firmware modifications from userspace to set this stuff, so you can tweak your voltages / cpufreq / ram timings from a live system. I figure the only real safeguard you'd want like that is if you have 3 failed boots in a row or something it resets to the defaults so it can cleanly boot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •