Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: How to use Phronix Test Suite ?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default How to use Phronix Test Suite ?

    How do I install P test Suite in Ubuntu 8.04 ? And how do I use it ? Is it necessary to run games to get the FPS ? Or it will give an assumption seeing the secs ?

    Regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    First make sure you have PHP5-CLI and PHP5-GD installed. Then cd to the pts directory (or wherever you saved the files to) and run it from the terminal:

    Code:
    ./phoronix-test-suite
    That will give you all the available commands. There are several commands you can append to that initial call, like lists-test and list-suites, which will give you a read-out of all the available benchmarks. You install benchmarks with the install argument. Ex.

    Code:
    Install Universe suite:
    
    ./phoronix-test-suite install universe
    Everything will be automatically downloaded and installed, with all dependencies resolved automatically. You're going to need a rather fast internet connection since some of the programs are rather large. After it installs you can run it with the run argument:

    Code:
    ./phoronix-test-suite run universe

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Just 1 question .? Where the files will get installed ? Can I delete the extracted folder after installation will ask if I have some problems

  4. #4

    Default

    Files by default are installed to ~/.phoronix-test-suite/installed-tests/, but you can change that location in ~/.phoronix-test-suite/user-config.xml

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Another question.. will the installation download the full nexuiz and quake game :"O

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,105

    Default

    For Quake you obviously will need game files from the disk. The same thing for Doom 3. Nexuiz is free, so the whole thing will be downloaded and can be run without restrictions.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default

    You are not getting my point.. the installation of Phoronix Test Suite download the s/w for test.. I want to ask that will it download the whole game or I have to do that ?

  8. #8

    Default

    Dark_Star:

    We cannot legally support having PTS download the entire ET:QW or Quake 4 game. It will download the updates for the game, but you have to copy over the game files from the DVD/CDs you purchased. For all free software tests, it downloads everything and will get you going.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Is it possible to select/deselect a particular packages while installation ? Some packages are too big and i don't have very fast net connection ?

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark_Star View Post
    Is it possible to select/deselect a particular packages while installation ? Some packages are too big and i don't have very fast net connection ?
    Just not run those tests then? If one of the packages is too big to download, then you just can't run that test. Alternatively, you could download the packages elsewhere and then use the make-download-cache feature.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •