Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: AMD's Updated Catalyst Linux Driver Now Available

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,782

    Default AMD's Updated Catalyst Linux Driver Now Available

    Phoronix: AMD's Updated Catalyst Linux Driver Now Available

    A few hours ago I wrote that AMD would release a new Catalyst Linux driver today and now they've delivered in having same-day AMD Kaveri Linux graphics support when using their binary driver...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU3MTE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Good to know.
    Also, excellent that they went over themself and shipped you a sample. This is excellent.
    But the opensource is still never ready upon release, architecture after architecture. Intel catched up here looong ago. I wish they abandon stupid Catalyst!

    I guess one can write that off to the fact they are not as big as before, but they recently released 9590 CPU and guess what - it consumes so much current, one can power TWO Intel 4770 or 1245v3 Xeons of it. Xeons and desktop also cost same and roughtly equal to 9590. Sucks... :/ But could be worse.

    Good thing is that Intel competition has various artificial limitations, that reminds one of not trusting anyone.
    Last edited by brosis; 01-14-2014 at 01:03 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    91

    Default

    does it work with xorg 1.15 yet?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    931

    Default

    No, it doesn't. Come on AMD, it can't be that difficult considering Nvidia already does it -.-
    ## VGA ##
    AMD: X1950XTX, HD3870, HD5870
    Intel: GMA45, HD3000 (Core i5 2500K)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by darkbasic View Post
    No, it doesn't. Come on AMD, it can't be that difficult considering Nvidia already does it -.-
    yah. i've switched to radeonsi, i found that i can make my window manager resize windows opaquely so it's kind of usable, as long as i don't run gtkperf, then my desktop gets completely unresponsive as soon as gets to the lines test.

    if i could i'd use intel onboard video, but alas i'm using 1440p dvi-d monitors that onboard video can't support (one on each computer, mostly amd video cards only support one dual-link dvi too)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    199

    Default

    So this is basically 13.12 with support for the newer GPUs? In other words, the beta version is better if running Steam games?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi

    I'm sorry if this is a dumb question but it is not clear.
    Does this release suppport all the previously supported hardware? On the link phoronix provided it only states :
    Supported Products:

    AMD A10-7850K Desktop APU with AMD Radeon R7 Series graphics
    AMD A10-7700K Desktop APU with AMD Radeon R5 Series graphics

    is this the changelog?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,551

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LacerdaPT View Post
    Hi

    I'm sorry if this is a dumb question but it is not clear.
    Does this release suppport all the previously supported hardware? On the link phoronix provided it only states :
    Supported Products:

    AMD A10-7850K Desktop APU with AMD Radeon R7 Series graphics
    AMD A10-7700K Desktop APU with AMD Radeon R5 Series graphics

    is this the changelog?
    It sounds more like a typo... The R5 series mostly consist of pre-GCN cards, so they should have been supported before that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    191

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LacerdaPT View Post
    Hi

    I'm sorry if this is a dumb question but it is not clear.
    Does this release suppport all the previously supported hardware? On the link phoronix provided it only states :
    Supported Products:

    AMD A10-7850K Desktop APU with AMD Radeon R7 Series graphics
    AMD A10-7700K Desktop APU with AMD Radeon R5 Series graphics

    is this the changelog?
    It supports previous hardware too (works fine on my 7850 and 7660G + 7670M).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •