Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: GTK3 Version Of Firefox Up For Fedora Testing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,371

    Default GTK3 Version Of Firefox Up For Fedora Testing

    Phoronix: GTK3 Version Of Firefox Up For Fedora Testing

    It's taking a long time of the GTK3 port of Mozilla Firefox to be completed, but it's now been made a bit easier for those wanting to test out GTK3 Firefox on Fedora Linux...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU2OTk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    348

    Default

    Can we please talk about how bullshit this is? I love Mozilla and Firefox but it's not like there's a million lines of GTK code in there; what the hell constitutes 3 years of porting?

    Also a good question: what does plugin-container have to do with GTK? Rather, what does NPAPI have to do with GTK that it cannot be built without linking to GTK2?
    (at least that's what I've gotten from a brief look at the bug linked in the article)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,525

    Default

    Hmm, will this finally solve the issue of using dark desktop themes with Firefox (where input boxes become unreadable etc.)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,068

    Default

    GTK libraries do not version symbols
    I didn't realize this, but looking at the packages it seems to be the case. Is there a reason for this?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in Kansas.
    Posts
    250

    Default

    I didn't realize this, but looking at the packages it seems to be the case. Is there a reason for this?
    I think I heard that officially the gtk devs have said that gtk is for gnome and that they don't support stable interfaces for programs, themes, etc that other stuff might use. I could be remembering stuff wrong though.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daktyl198 View Post
    Also a good question: what does plugin-container have to do with GTK? Rather, what does NPAPI have to do with GTK that it cannot be built without linking to GTK2?
    (at least that's what I've gotten from a brief look at the bug linked in the article)
    I think it more has to do with Flash being linked to GTK2; currently it is not possible to use GTK2 and GTK3 in the same process, thus Flash won't work with a GTK3 built of firefox where the plugin lives in the same process as the browser gui.

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=624422
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bu...id=627699#c275

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ua=42 View Post
    I think I heard that officially the gtk devs have said that gtk is for gnome and that they don't support stable interfaces for programs, themes, etc that other stuff might use. I could be remembering stuff wrong though.
    GTK+ does not support stable interfaces for programs? Actually, GTK+ is quite API and even ABI stable. Even binary themes used to work without recompilation and I bet this is still the case.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    295

    Default

    The problem is, as stated in the wiki, the lack of symbol versions. Thus, having the same same, if you load both GTK2 and GTK3 into the very same process, the symbols interfere.

    P.S.: stupid 5 min edit limit

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,525

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oleid View Post
    I think it more has to do with Flash being linked to GTK2; currently it is not possible to use GTK2 and GTK3 in the same process, thus Flash won't work with a GTK3 built of firefox where the plugin lives in the same process as the browser gui.

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=624422
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bu...id=627699#c275
    Interesting. I never noticed that, but yes, flash-player requires libgtk-x11-2.0 at the moment.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oleid View Post
    I think it more has to do with Flash being linked to GTK2; currently it is not possible to use GTK2 and GTK3 in the same process, thus Flash won't work with a GTK3 built of firefox where the plugin lives in the same process as the browser gui.

    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=624422
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bu...id=627699#c275
    I could-of swore plugin-container was already a separate process... *shrug*

    At this point, I'd go for a Qt-based Firefox if it meant faster porting to newer versions :/
    (btw, what versions of Qt does flash support?)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •