Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: XBMC 13 Will Have Tons Of Exciting Improvements

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,429

    Default XBMC 13 Will Have Tons Of Exciting Improvements

    Phoronix: XBMC 13 Will Have Tons Of Exciting Improvements

    After the XBMC 12.3 release this week, the next major update due out for this incredibly popular multi-platform HTPC software is the XBMC 13.0 "Gotham" release...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU1NTI

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    183

    Default

    The only thing I'm really missing is a builtin web browser which can be controlled with a IR remote. Maybe similar to how the Google G1 did it.

    I know you can launch external browsers but they are a pita to control and they are not ment to be used from a few metres away (font size, menus, ...).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    431

    Default

    Whatever happened to Ubuntu TV? Does it work with capture cards? My problem right now is finding a good TV backend to stream video to XBMC. Currently I use MediaPortal, which actually works awesomely, but it's only for Windows.

    Linux though has MythTV, which a lot of people will swear by it but I've never gotten it to work. I've gotten ATSC broadcast TV to work, but nothing past that. But there's better ATSC software that's easier to setup on Linux then MythTV. The other problem is that analog TV input is somewhat problematic for certain capture cards, particularly with Hauppauge, well the ones I own anyway. Even though the cards work perfectly fine in TV-Viewer, there's some driver compatibility issues with MythTV. Don't get me started on setting up EPG with MythTV, which the best route is paying for an online service MythTV provides.

    Would love to finally see a good TV backend that works. TV sucks so much lately that it's not a very important feature for some people, so it tends to be a lesser issue. My MediaPortal setup is for my niece when she comes over, so she can watch TV on the tablet with XBMC. Which BTW XBMC on Android is extremely buggy, and stupid. There needs to be a UI built for a screen like the tablet.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dukenukemx View Post
    Whatever happened to Ubuntu TV? Does it work with capture cards? My problem right now is finding a good TV backend to stream video to XBMC. Currently I use MediaPortal, which actually works awesomely, but it's only for Windows.

    Linux though has MythTV, which a lot of people will swear by it but I've never gotten it to work. I've gotten ATSC broadcast TV to work, but nothing past that. But there's better ATSC software that's easier to setup on Linux then MythTV. The other problem is that analog TV input is somewhat problematic for certain capture cards, particularly with Hauppauge, well the ones I own anyway. Even though the cards work perfectly fine in TV-Viewer, there's some driver compatibility issues with MythTV. Don't get me started on setting up EPG with MythTV, which the best route is paying for an online service MythTV provides.

    Would love to finally see a good TV backend that works. TV sucks so much lately that it's not a very important feature for some people, so it tends to be a lesser issue. My MediaPortal setup is for my niece when she comes over, so she can watch TV on the tablet with XBMC. Which BTW XBMC on Android is extremely buggy, and stupid. There needs to be a UI built for a screen like the tablet.
    i am using vdr for years and it works perfect. better than anyother i've tested so far.

    as i am impatiant i am always building xbmc and the vdr client and server plugins from git. but the oficial stable releases are fine. if you need help to set it up let me know, though it is very easy to. i never tested it but i read that yavdr and openelectv are very good preconfigured xbmc+vdr distros.

    i personally stick to ubuntu gnome + self compiled xbmc from git.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    431

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by a user View Post
    i am using vdr for years and it works perfect. better than anyother i've tested so far.

    as i am impatiant i am always building xbmc and the vdr client and server plugins from git. but the oficial stable releases are fine. if you need help to set it up let me know, though it is very easy to. i never tested it but i read that yavdr and openelectv are very good preconfigured xbmc+vdr distros.

    i personally stick to ubuntu gnome + self compiled xbmc from git.
    I remember trying VDR and had problems, but I can't remember what they were. Does it have a UI or is it command based? Also my only hardware mpeg2 capture card is in my Windows machine, and I know a lot of software doesn't like software mpeg2 devices, which is what I have in my Linux machine right now.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    470

    Default

    Maybe XBMC team can consider integrating a version into SteamOS so it's not a case of compete, but bolstering both.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dukenukemx View Post
    I remember trying VDR and had problems, but I can't remember what they were. Does it have a UI or is it command based? Also my only hardware mpeg2 capture card is in my Windows machine, and I know a lot of software doesn't like software mpeg2 devices, which is what I have in my Linux machine right now.
    well, there are frontends for vdr and there is even a config ui accessable from within xbmc. but there is actually no need for one. there is nothing or at most only a few things that might need to be tweaked individually. vdr works fine with software and hardware mpeg2 devices, as far as i know.

    installing vdr is just a matter of installing the packages, answering a few questions during install, getting a channels.conf (use google for your satalites) and that's it...

    vdr checks on its own for new channels while you can disable this in the setup.conf or via the gui in xbmc. i prefere ordering my channels.conf but one can configure channel groups and orders within xbmc and if you wish you can enforce vdr to apply them to its channels.conf. i personally do not tocuh any kind of ordering and grouping within xbmc and have sorted my channels.conf manually. the reason is that i am always running experimentel xbmc and that might brake things from time to time. reconfiguring my channels and groups from a gui takes too long for me while the sort order in the text file remains

    EDIT: oh an as far as i know it also supports CI cards.

    two years back i tested tvheadend and it was quite nice. can't remember why i went back to vdr but i had some issues. i think time shift wasn't working. now i tried tvheadend again 2 months back or so and i couldn't get it working with xbmc. the tvheadend xbmc plugin was crashing xbmc 80% of the time. vdr is still the only backend i saw that works flawless and with all features.
    Last edited by a user; 12-30-2013 at 08:06 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dukenukemx View Post
    There needs to be a UI built for a screen like the tablet.
    There is, download the "Touched" skin (if it isn't already downloaded but just not enabled for Android).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    There is, download the "Touched" skin (if it isn't already downloaded but just not enabled for Android).
    and thats not the only one. even some common skins support a touch friendly mode via settings.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by a user View Post
    and thats not the only one. even some common skins support a touch friendly mode via settings.
    Ya there is, however I have ran across a few that sometimes gets you into an area where you get "stuck" because they haven't provided an icon to back out of the screen. On a remote you would just use the back button or menu button.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •