Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 43

Thread: Fedora 20 Officially Released

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by droidhacker View Post
    Fedora upgrade has always been pretty scary. Usually what I do, is backup my home partition (and maybe var, depending on the installation), unplug my data disks, wipe, install, restore home. Its the most foolproof/clean way to upgrade an OS.
    FWIW Thus far I've fedup'ed 10/10 physical machines (6 servers, 3 workstations, 1 laptop) and 2 VMs, with ~20 VMs on the way.
    Beyond the fedup v 0.7 issue and some minor issues with missing libreoffice upgrades (that were solved in the first yum update), I've yet to encounter any serious issues on any of my servers, workstations or VMs.
    I am facing issues running bumblebee-nvidia on my laptop (nvidia-kmod refuses to start), but I don't have time to take a look at it.

    - Gilboa
    DEV: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX680, F20/x86_64, Dell U2711.
    SRV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 4x2TB, GTX550, F20/x86_64, Dell U2412..
    BACK: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 3x1.5TB, 9800GTX, F20/x86-64.
    LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F20/x86_64.

  2. #32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gilboa View Post
    FWIW Thus far I've fedup'ed 10/10 physical machines (6 servers, 3 workstations, 1 laptop) and 2 VMs, with ~20 VMs on the way.
    Beyond the fedup v 0.7 issue and some minor issues with missing libreoffice upgrades (that were solved in the first yum update), I've yet to encounter any serious issues on any of my servers, workstations or VMs.
    I am facing issues running bumblebee-nvidia on my laptop (nvidia-kmod refuses to start), but I don't have time to take a look at it.

    - Gilboa
    The LibreOffice messages should stop happening soon, or have stopped happening already, for most people - a newer LibreOffice has now landed in F20 updates.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamW View Post
    The LibreOffice messages should stop happening soon, or have stopped happening already, for most people - a newer LibreOffice has now landed in F20 updates.
    I know. I've just updated a couple of other machines and did not get the missing dep message.
    Oh, and bumblebee is working just fine once I loaded the nVidia driver by hand. Most likely the bumble systemd service was down. For now, fedup 19-20 looks *very* solid - at least in my farm

    - Gilboa
    DEV: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX680, F20/x86_64, Dell U2711.
    SRV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 4x2TB, GTX550, F20/x86_64, Dell U2412..
    BACK: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 3x1.5TB, 9800GTX, F20/x86-64.
    LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F20/x86_64.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamW View Post
    Thanks Hamish! Glad it worked out well for you.

    No, seriously, we added GeoIP support - if we manage to bring the network up early enough, we use GeoIP to get a location guess based purely on your IP address, which is usually close enough for making a decent guess at your locale and timezone.

    The GeoIP stuff is new in 20, and we fixed quite a lot of bugs and bad designs in the language and keyboard settings stuff for 20. We did fix a lot of bugs in partitioning too, though that's such a huge area there are certainly more remaining.

    Again, glad you enjoyed it!
    Seriously??? Well, I suppose it had to happen. So much for "Free as in Freedom" I was glad to read Hamish's comment as well, as fc20 Heisenbugz hasn't yet worked out for me at all. I first tried fedupping a fc19 partition, but ran out of space in /var/tmp/fedora-upgrade. Fortunately I had an overly-generous swap partition before and 36GB unused after my (6) install partitions, and after a bit of gpartediting from openSuSE and CentOS was able to expand the fc19 partition and a new fc20 as well. With the last in hand, I (wisely) decided to postpone upgrading fc19 until after learning whether Heisenbugz was in any way useful for me, and set about a stock Gnome install from the fc20 install DVD oh woe is me.

    Selected custom partitioning and Anaconda reports unhandled segv in python swapon() if I don't select a swap partition. Okay, select the swap partition. But it (apparently, sure hope I'm wrong) wouldn't let me complete the swap partition selection without selecting "reformat swap". Okay, fine. Its just swap. What could possibly go wrong?

    Well, that would depend on how "wrong" one considers changing the uuid of the reformatted partition. Anaconda did give the option of specifying the new uuid, which was a nice gesture, but not quite as nice a gesture as would have been keeping the original uuid by default. With freshly formatted swap partition and its newly-minted uuid in hand, I next learned tune2fs -U <uuid> wouldn't work on swap partitions? (Really?). I think I must have learned this on openSuse 13.1, as neither CentOS or fc19 would boot against the new swap uuid. I think. I think openSuse uses /dev/disk/by-id rather than by-uuid, but it was late at night and I didn't take notes. I did run dracut from CentOS' install DVD rescue mode, and fixed that problem, and may have then booted CentOS to run its dracut against fc19 to fix that as well. Anyway, all is good with my world except for Heisenbugz (Remember Heisenbugz? This rant is about Heisenbugz) which booted fine the first time, after which ensued a particularly painful experience with its new PackageKit front-end, but successfully updated, and safely escaped back to Schodinger where I examined the fc20/usr/bin and found yum was indeed alive and well what a relief. Rebooted back to fc20 to see if Cinnamon was still available, or Xfce, only to be confronted with the recursive-login loop problem which I'm clueless to fix but will try updating from rescue mode and see if that helps. If not its another "clean" fc20 install, and verify whether Anaconda really does (or doesn't) require swap reformat.

    How I Spent My Christmas Vacation. Glad fc20 worked out for Hamish, lends some hope for the holidaze. The good noose is Schrodinger's remains Teh Best Fedora Evah and I'm glad I didn't change it.

    Thanks to Adam and Rahul for participating, holding our hands, and enduring the odd rant. I'll work though this -- eventually.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gilboa View Post
    I know. I've just updated a couple of other machines and did not get the missing dep message.
    Oh, and bumblebee is working just fine once I loaded the nVidia driver by hand. Most likely the bumble systemd service was down. For now, fedup 19-20 looks *very* solid - at least in my farm

    - Gilboa
    Mind posting what exactly did you do for bumblebee?

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Catalyst propietary drivers doesn't work on Fedora 20, I'm stuck at F19

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maxtorete View Post
    Catalyst propietary drivers doesn't work on Fedora 20, I'm stuck at F19
    Do NOT upgrade to F20! Catalyst crashes and I am now stuck in limbo. I have to distro-sync back to F19.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    54

    Default

    Okay. I'm back and my Heisenbug is good. The yum update from rescue DVD fixed the recursive-login problem so I didn't need to reinstall, and Cinnamon and yumex are better than ever. qt-5.2.0 is available, but not qtcreator-3.0.0, which I assume is a readily-corrected packaging oversight. But the version I compiled last week on Schrodinger's works fine on fc20, so I'm happy.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    278

    Default

    Any news on availability of Mesa 10 and Xorg 1.15 in Fedora?

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kostas View Post
    Mind posting what exactly did you do for bumblebee?
    Added the bumblebee and bumblebee-nonfree repos from fedora-bumblebee [1].
    Installed the missing bits (bumblebee-nvidia, VirtualGL, VirtualGL.i686, bbswitch, primus and primus.i686).
    Make sure the bumblebee-nvidia.service and bumblebeed.service services are enabled and running.

    ... And that's it (I used this in Fedora 18, which was later fedup'ed to 19 and than 20).

    - Gilboa
    [1] https://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bumblebee
    DEV: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX680, F20/x86_64, Dell U2711.
    SRV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 4x2TB, GTX550, F20/x86_64, Dell U2412..
    BACK: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 3x1.5TB, 9800GTX, F20/x86-64.
    LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F20/x86_64.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •